In Tune or Not in Tune... That Is the Question

Jack Bowers By

Sign in to view read count
Personnel: Rob Parton: leader, trumpet solos (1, 4-7, 9, 10), lead trumpet (2, 11); Roger Ingram: trumpet (1, 3-10); Scott Wagstaff: trumpet; Victor Garcia: trumpet; B.J. Cord: trumpet; Ken Partyka: alto, soprano sax, flute; Chris Madsen: alto sax, flute, clarinet (1, 2, 4, 8-11); Matt Wiffler: alto sax, flute, clarinet (3, 5-7); Mark Colby: tenor sax, clarinet (1, 2, 4, 8-11); Kevin Kizer: tenor sax, clarinet (3, 5-7); John Wojciechowski: tenor sax, flute, clarinet (1, 2, 4, 8-11); Alex Beltran: tenor sax, flute, clarinet (3, 5-7); Ted Hogarth: baritone sax, bass clarinet; Andy Baker: trombone; Dan Johnson: trombone (1, 2, 4, 8-11); Tom Garling: trombone (3, 5-7); Tim Coffman: trombone; Thomas Matta: bass trombone (1, 2, 4, 8-11); John Blane: bass trombone (3, 5-7); Kevin O'Connell: piano; Mike Pinto: guitar; Stewart Miller: bass; Bob Rummage: drums (1, 2, 4, 8-11); Eric Montzka: drums (3, 5-7).


Tracks: Losing Lucidity; A Chaser; Teebeutelregen; Figment; Bathyal; Promenade; Figment (remix).

Personnel: Bert Joris: conductor; Philip Henzi: composer, arranger, piano, Fender Rhodes, Wurlitzer; David Blaser: trumpet, flugelhorn; Johannes Walter: trumpet, flugelhorn; Linus Hunkeler: trumpet, flugelhorn; Daniel Woodtli: trumpet, flugelhorn; Thomas Knuchel: trumpet, flugelhorn; Adrian Plugshaupt: alto, soprano sax, flute, alto flute; Reto Suhner: alto sax, flute, alto flute, alto clarinet; Till Grunewald: tenor, soprano sax, flute; Jurg Bucher: tenor sax, clarinet, bass clarinet; Marc Schodler: baritone sax, bass clarinet; Rene Mosele: trombone; Stefan Schlegel: trombone; Andreas Tschopp: trombone, tenor and soprano recorder; Reto Zumstein: bass trombone, tuba; Nikolay Karageorgiev: guitar; Lorenz Beyeler: acoustic bass; Antonio Schiavano: electric bass; Tobias Friedli: drums; Rico Baumann: drums (4, 6); Roland Wager: percussion, glockenspiel, crotales, udu.


Tracks: Tales of Cotton; Desolation Blues; LEDCC; Blue Bossa; Silver Woody; Speak Softly; Red Sky; Home; Dry with a Twist.

Personnel: Ian McDougall: trombone, leader; Derry Byrne: trumpet; Brad Turner: trumpet; Campbell Ryga: alto sax; Chris Startup: alto sax; Ross Taggart: tenor sax; Phil Dwyer: tenor sax; Rod Murray: trombone; Ron Johnson: piano; Oliver Gannon: guitar; Ken Lister: bass; Craig Scott: drums.


Tracks: Bloom; Electric Images; Bumblebee Garden; Dance One; Opened Opened; Dragonfly's Glasses; Islands in the Stream; Skip.

Personnel: Asuka Kakitani: composer, arranger, conductor; Jeff Wilfore: trumpet, flugelhorn; David Spier: trumpet, flugelhorn; John Bailey: trumpet, flugelhorn; Matt Holman: trumpet, flugelhorn; John O'Gallagher: alto, soprano sax, flute; Ben Kono: alto, soprano sax, flute; Jason Rigby: tenor sax, clarinet; Mark Small: tenor sax, clarinet; Kenny Berger: baritone sax, bass clarinet; Mark Patterson: trombone; Matt McDonald: trombone; Jacob Garchik: trombone; Jeff Nelson: bass trombone; Mike Eckroth: piano, Fender Rhodes; Pete McCann: acoustic, electric guitar; Dave Ambrosio: acoustic, electric bass; Mark Ferber: drums; Sara Serpa: voice.

On Cue: The Music of Seamus Blake

Tracks: On Cue; Fear of Roaming; Trust in You; Way Out Willy; Shabu Shabu; The Song That Lives Inside; Zydeco.

Personnel: Dr. Tommy Poole: director; Timothy Moore: trumpet; Christopher Greene: trumpet; Jared Wallis: trumpet; Kristen Layne: trumpet; Sean Ryan: trumpet; Jonathan Rice: alto sax, flute; Andrew Djahadian: alto sax, flute; Joseph Barger: tenor sax, clarinet; Christopher Beard: tenor sax, flute, clarinet; Nicholas McKinney: baritone sax, bass clarinet; Trevor Moore: trombone; Zachary Gunkel: trombone; Ryunosuke Hamada: trombone; Elijah Sullivan: bass trombone; Stephen Schultz: guitar; Daniel Thompson: piano; Eric Schmidt: bass; Christopher Wilson: drums. Special guest artist—Seamus Blake: composer, arranger, tenor sax.

Range of Motion

Tracks: LaPorta; Slow Helen; Winterset; Hip Check; Raucous Caucus; The Breezeling; Mean Streak; Prairie Dance; Manne-rism; Loose Weave.

Personnel: Jack Mouse: leader, drums; Scott Robinson: tenor, soprano sax, flute; Art Davis: trumpet, flugelhorn; John McLean: guitar; Kelly Sill: bass (1, 2, 5, 9); Bob Bowman: bass (3, 4, 6-8).

Octet Volume One

Tracks: Manteca; Unit 7; A Night in Tunisia; To You; Soundings; Stompin' at the Savoy; Still Waters; Better Get Hit in Your Soul; East of Pho Hung; Infra-Rae.

Personnel: Terry Promane: co-leader, trombone; Dave Young: co-leader, bass; Kevin Turcotte: trumpet, flugelhorn; Vern Dorge: alto sax; Mike Murley: tenor sax; Perry White: baritone sax; Gary Williamson: piano; Terry Clarke: drums.

Coming Up for Air

Tracks: Lady Be Good; Dans la Magie de la Lumiere; Meet My Baby on the Night Train; Somethin' Real; The Thrill of Love Just Never Fades; Fever; You'd Better Go Now; All of Me; In the Magic of the Light; Bye Bye Blackbird.

Personnel: Kathleen Lee: vocals; Jamil Sharif: trumpet; Clarence Johnson III: saxophones; Matt Rhody: violin, mandolin; Dwight Fitch Jr.: piano (1, 2, 4, 6, 8-10); Peter Cho: piano (3, 5); Fred Sanders: piano (7); Matt Hampsey: guitar; David Easley: pedal steel guitar; Al Bernard: bass (1, 4); Kerry Lewis: bass (2, 3, 5, 9); David Pulphus: bass (6-8, 10); Geoff Clapp: drums.

Post a comment



Big Band Report Jack Bowers United States Stan Kenton Zoot Sims Kenny G Jo Stafford Bill Holman Don Menza Bobby Shew Tom Kubis Bob Curnow Mike Barone Pete Christlieb Roger Neumann Gary Urwin Bill Watrous Kim Richmond Steve Huffsteter Alan Broadbent Dizzy Gillespie Ted Heath John Dankworth Benny Goodman Louie Bellson Count Basie oscar peterson frank sinatra Bud Shank Bob Cooper Bill Perkins Conte Candoli Jiggs Whigham Pete Rugolo Frank Capp Doug Miller Milt Bernhart Shorty Rogers Maynard Ferguson Charlie Parker Manny Albam Ken Hanna Remi Bolduc Johnny Richards Rob Parton Eric Richards Mike Pinto Bob Rummage Tim Coffman B.J. Cord Victor Garcia Clark Terry Ted Hogarth Joe Henderson Thelonious Monk Mark Colby, Joe Policastro Chris Madsen John Wojciechowski Miles Davis Bill Evans Bert Joris Jim McNeely Johannes Walter Jurg Bucher Ian McDougall Ross Taggart ben webster Gene Ammons Dexter Gordon Sonny Stitt Wardell Gray Johnny Griffin Lockjaw Davis Horace Silver Woody Herman Don Thompson Kenny Dorham Ken Lister Oliver Gannon Brad Turner Craig Scott Rob McConnell Asuka Kakitani Toshiko Akiyoshi Maria Schneider Kenny Berger John Bailey Jason Rigby Dave Ambrosio Mike Eckroth Pete McCann Matt McDonald Mark Ferber John O'Gallagher Jacob Garchik Ben Kono Matt Holman Mark Small Mark Patterson Seamus Blake Russell Malone Robin Eubanks Bobby Watson Scott Robinson Marvin Stamm Bob Summers John McLean Bob Bowman Kelly Sill John LaPorta Henry Mancini Shelly Manne Dave Young Dave Pell Thad Jones Charles Mingus Hank Mobley Sam Jones Kevin Turcotte Terry Clarke Chick Webb Edgar Sampson Mike Murley Fred Sanders David Pulphus JERI SOUTHERN Peggy Lee Gene McDaniels


Popular Articles

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.