Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...

5

Top 25 "Read" Album Reviews: 2016

Michael Ricci By

Sign in to view read count
All About Jazz tracks how often an album review is read, and the reviews listed below represent our top twelve published in 2016.

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Evolution by Dr. Lonnie Smith Evolution
Dr. Lonnie Smith
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: January 4, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Spark by Hiromi Spark
Hiromi
by Jeff Winbush
Published: April 1, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: A Multitude of Angels by Keith Jarrett A Multitude of Angels
Keith Jarrett
by Karl Ackermann
Published: November 30, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Cuong Vu Trio Meets Pat Metheny by Cuong Vu Trio With Pat Metheny Cuong Vu Trio Meets Pat Metheny
Cuong Vu Trio With Pat Metheny
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: April 20, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Take Me To The Alley by Gregory Porter Take Me To The Alley
Gregory Porter
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: April 10, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: The Ludwigsburg Concert by Lyle Mays Quartet The Ludwigsburg Concert
Lyle Mays Quartet
by Karl Ackermann
Published: February 26, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Arclight by Julian Lage Arclight
Julian Lage
by Troy Collins
Published: March 4, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Some Other Time: The Lost Session From the Black Forest by Bill Evans with Eddie Gomez and Jack DeJohnette Some Other Time: The Lost Session From the Black Forest
Bill Evans with Eddie Gomez and Jack DeJohnette
by Karl Ackermann
Published: April 27, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: In Movement by Jack DeJohnette/Ravi Coltrane/Matthew Garrison In Movement
Jack DeJohnette/Ravi Coltrane/Matthew Garrison
by Karl Ackermann
Published: May 4, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Shift by Logan Richardson Shift
Logan Richardson
by Mark F. Turner
Published: February 11, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Upward Spiral by The Branford Marsalis Quartet with Special Guest Kurt Elling Upward Spiral
The Branford Marsalis Quartet with Special Guest Kurt Elling
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: May 19, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Into the Silence by Avishai Cohen Into the Silence
Avishai Cohen
by Mark Sullivan
Published: February 5, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Blues and Ballads by Brad Mehldau Trio Blues and Ballads
Brad Mehldau Trio
by Geno Thackara
Published: June 2, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: The Distance by Michael Formanek's Ensemble Kolossus The Distance
Michael Formanek's Ensemble Kolossus
by Mark Sullivan
Published: February 5, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: A Cosmic Rhythm With Each Stroke by Vijay Iyer & Wadada Leo Smith A Cosmic Rhythm With Each Stroke
Vijay Iyer & Wadada Leo Smith
by Karl Ackermann
Published: March 9, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Songbook Sessions: Ella Fitzgerald by Jane Monheit Songbook Sessions: Ella Fitzgerald
Jane Monheit
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: March 26, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Let's Get Lost by Cyrille Aimee Let's Get Lost
Cyrille Aimee
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: January 25, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: The New Breed by Jeff Parker The New Breed
Jeff Parker
by Jakob Baekgaard
Published: June 4, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: I Long To See You by Charles Lloyd & The Marvels I Long To See You
Charles Lloyd & The Marvels
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: March 6, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Nihil Novi by Marcus Strickland's Twi-Life Nihil Novi
Marcus Strickland's Twi-Life
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: April 30, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: In Paris: The ORTF Recordings by Larry Young In Paris: The ORTF Recordings
Larry Young
by Mark Corroto
Published: March 2, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Work Songs by Jaimeo Brown Transcendence Work Songs
Jaimeo Brown Transcendence
by Mark F. Turner
Published: March 1, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: What was said by Tord Gustavsen with Simin Tander & Jarle Vespestad What Was Said
Tord Gustavsen with Simin Tander & Jarle Vespestad
by Mark Sullivan
Published: February 22, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Space Squid by Bill Stewart Space Squid
Bill Stewart
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: January 8, 2016

2016 top 50 most recommended CD reviews: Old Locks And Irregular Verbs by Henry Threadgill Ensemble Double Up Old Locks And Irregular Verbs
Henry Threadgill Ensemble Double Up
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: March 18, 2016

Tags

comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

In Pictures
Live Reviews
In Pictures
Year in Review
My Blue Note Obsession
Album Reviews
Live Reviews
Album Reviews
Interviews
Album Reviews
Interviews
Album Reviews
Read more articles
All In My Mind

All In My Mind

Blue Note Records
2018

buy
Evolution

Evolution

Blue Note Records
2016

buy
Dr. Lonnie Smith Octet - In The Beginning, Volumes 1 & 2

Dr. Lonnie Smith...

Pilgrimage Productions
2013

buy
The Healer

The Healer

Pilgrimage Productions
2012

buy
Spiral

Spiral

Palmetto Records
2010

buy
Rise Up!

Rise Up!

Palmetto Records
2009

buy

Upcoming Shows

Related Articles

Year in Review
2018: The Year in Jazz
By Ken Franckling
January 3, 2019
Year in Review
Most Read Articles: 2018
By Michael Ricci
January 1, 2019
Year in Review
Most Read Album Reviews: 2018
By Michael Ricci
January 1, 2019
Year in Review
Popular Tracks: 2018
By Michael Ricci
January 1, 2019
Year in Review
In Memoriam: Jazz Musicians Who Passed in 2018
By Maxim Micheliov
December 31, 2018
Year in Review
Mark Sullivan's Best Releases of 2018
By Mark Sullivan
December 26, 2018
Year in Review
The Top Ten Christmas Jazz Albums Of All Time
By Peter Hoetjes
December 24, 2018