Michael Gregory Jackson, Francesca Remigi & Oles Brothers

Maurice Hogue By

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
This show reminds me of a calzone stuffed with just about every imaginable filling. Appropriately, there's a wonderful new release from Italian drummer Francesca Remigi and her band Archipelagos. This is definitely one of the finest debuts of 2021—deep, contemporary and socially aware. The very respected guitarist, Michael Gregory Jackson, is also debuting his Frequency Equilibrium Koan, the difference being this music was recorded back in the 70s during the loft scene. Julius Hemphill, Abdul Wadud and Pheeroan AkLaff were with Jackson that night, recorded at The Ladies Fort on a Sony field recording cassette machine. There's some Joe Zawinul—somewhat recognizable—from the Oles Brothers from Poland with pianist Piotr Orzechowski, west coast sax blazer Jon Armstrong, and some very current music from the South African scene. With added spice from Dan Rosenboom and the Rempis Percussion Quartet, you should be totally stuffed after this jam-packed show.


  • Michael Gregory Jackson "Heart And Center" from Frequency Equilibrium Koan (Golden) 00:00
  • Host speaks 09:43
  • Michael Gregory Jackson "A Meditation" from Frequency Equilibrium Koan (Golden) 12:03
  • Alexander Hawkins "Sea No Shore" from Togetherness Music—For Sixteen Musicians (Intakt) 21:09
  • Lenny Pickett & John Hadfield "Alto Clar" from Heard By Others (Orenda) 28:28
  • Host speaks 32:05
  • Jon Armstrong "Hit It As Long As Possible" from Reabsorb (Orenda) 34:02
  • Cowboys & Frenchmen "Alice In Promised Land" from Our Highway (Outside In) 49:23
  • Host speaks 54:35
  • Dario Piccioni "A New Ceiba" from Carpet Stories (Auand) 55:12
  • Dan Rosenboom "An Ancient Tree" from Astral Transference & Seven Dreams (Orenda) 1:00:56
  • Dan Rosenboom "Colors You May Never See" from Astral Transference & Seven Dreams (Orenda) 1:08:21
  • Host speaks 1:14:10
  • Francesca Remigi & Archipelagos "Scherzo" from Il Labirinto Dei Topi (Emme) 1:16:55
  • Francesca Remigi & Archipelagos "The Shooting" from Il Labirinto Dei Topi (Emme) 1:28:34
  • Host speaks 1:36:32
  • Rempis Percussion Quartet "Late Arrival" from Sud Des Alpes (Aerophonic) 1:37:46
  • Samo Salamon "Sundays" from Live Ones, Volume 1 (Self-released) 1:49:24
  • Host speaks 1:55:23
  • Original Mind "You Know When It's Time" from You Know When It's Time (Mahakala) 1:56:23
  • Pete Levin "Jump" from Jump (Self-released) 2:01:02
  • Host speaks 2:07:51
  • Oles Brothers & Piotr Orzechowski "Directions: Echoes" from Waterfall: Music Of Joe Zawinul (Audio Cave) 2:09:47
  • Marek Malinowsk} Trio "When She Sleeps" from Scratching Fork (Fundacja Sluchaj) 2:19:05
  • Host speaks 2:25:59
  • Zachary Swanson & Tom Swafford violin "Rear Brake Caliper" from Scythe Paths Through The Nettles (Self-released) 2:26:54
  • Josh White Quartet "The Lower Case" from 13 Short Stories (Fresh Sound New Talent) 2:31:45
  • The Wretched "What Is History?" from Indaba Is (Brownswood) 2:39:27
  • Host speaks 2:48:07
  • Shabaka & the Ancestors "Prelude To Writing Together" from Indaba Is (Brownswood) 2:49:33

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Tony Bennett: A Hero's Journey in Authenticity
Beauty, Love and Justice: Living A Coltranian Life
Tony Bennett: A Hero's Journey in Authenticity
Read Steve Reich: Humans Love to See Other Humans Play Music
Read Top Jazz-Rock Fusion Recordings
Read Dean Brown: Global Fusion on Acid
Read Instrumental Duos
Building a Jazz Library
Instrumental Duos

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.