Home » Jazz Articles » Notre Vie Comme Un Western

Radio & Podcasts

Notre Vie Comme Un Western


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

The Bastille Day broadcast included new releases from John Finbury & Thelma De Freitas, Calabria Foti, Peter Eldridge & Kenny Werner and Maggie Gould plus birthday shout outs to songwriters Jimmy McHugh, Joan Whitney, saxophonist Lauren Sevian, drummer GayeLynn McKinney, cellist Akua Dixon, bassist Iris Ornig, vocalists Suzanne Pittson, Debbie Harry, Luciana Souza and trumpter Carol Morgan.


  • Lauren Sevian "Miss Lady" from Bliss (Posi-Tone) 00:00
  • Andrea Wolper "The Girls in Their Dresses" from Parallel Lives (Jazzed Media) 05:38
  • Host speaks 10:58
  • Bob Brookmeyer "Exactly Like You" from Jazz Is a Kick (Edition Ahorn) 13:16
  • Sara Gazarek and Josh Nelson "Sunny Side of the Street" from Dream In the Blue (Steel Bird Music ) 17:50
  • John Pizzarelli "I'm in the Mood For Love" from Kisses In the Rain (Telarc International Corp) 22:04
  • Wesla Whitfield "Hooray For Love" from Let's Get Lost (HighNote Records) 26:07
  • Host speaks 29:44
  • Akua Dixon "Akua's Dance" from Akua's Dance (Akua's Music) 32:42
  • Cecile McLorin Salvant "Womanchild" from Womanchild (Mack Avenue) 38:07
  • Gayelynn McKinney "Wide and Blue" from McKinFolk: The New Beginning (Detroit Music Factory) 44:09
  • Host speaks 52:33
  • Marlene Rosenberg "American Violet" from MLK Convergence (Origin) 54:44
  • Alexa Tarantino "Breeze" from Winds of Change (Posi-Tone) 1:00:04
  • John Finbury Featuring Thelma De Freitas "Surrealismo Tropical" from Sorte! (Green Flash Music) 1:05:01
  • Greta Matassa "The Shining Sea" from Portrait (Origin) 1:09:48
  • Host speaks 1:14:27
  • Nicki Parrott "On Broadway" from From New York to Paris (Arbors Jazz) 1:17:04
  • Joe Williams "You Showed Me the Way" from Jazz 'Round Midnight: Joe Williams (Verve) 1:21:32
  • Calabria Foti "The Man With the Horn" from Prelude to a Kiss (MoCo Records) 1:24:55
  • Peter Eldridge and Kenny Werner "You Don't Know Me" from Somewhere (Rosebud Records) 1:30:43
  • Host speaks 1:35:06
  • Kate Williams, Georgia Mancio "Heartwood" from Finding Home (Roomspin Records) 1:37:21
  • Helen Sung (feat. Carolyn Leonhart) "Too Bad" from Sung with Words (Stricker Street) 1:41:56
  • Rosana Eckert "For Good" from Sailing Home (Origin) 1:47:32
  • Host speaks 1:52:47
  • Pureum Jin "Seminole Trail" from The Real Blue (Cellar Live) 1:54:02
  • Iris Ornig "End of a Summer Night" from Storyteller (Self released) 2:00:04
  • Camille Bertault "Là où tu vas" from Pas de géant (Okeh) 2:04:45
  • Beat Kaestli "Besame Mucho/Embrasse-moi beaucoup" from Collage (Unit Records) 2:09:19
  • Paris Combo "Notre Vie Comme Un Western" from Tako Tsubo! (DRG Records Incorporated) 2:14:05
  • Host speaks 2:17:21
  • Brenda Earle Stokes "She Sings" from Right About Now (Self released) 2:21:24
  • Suzanne Pittson "We're Having a Crisis (Crisis)" from Out of the Hub: The Music of Freddie Hubbard (Vineland Records) 2:28:41
  • Host speaks 2:35:31
  • Dave Stryker "Signed, Sealed, Delivered" from Eight Track II (Strikezone Records) 2:38:14
  • Kevin Mahogany "Signed, Sealed, Delivered" from Pride and Joy (Telarc) 2:43:04
  • Maggie Gould "I Can't Help It" from Todo Amor (Self released) 2:45:31
  • George Benson "My Cherie Amour" from Guitar Man (Concord Jazz) 2:51:30
  • Host speaks 2:55:30
  • The Bad Plus "Heart of Glass" from These Are the Vistas (Columbia Records) 2:56:47
  • Scott Petito "Lawns" from Rainbow Gravity (Self released) 3:01:30
  • Judi Silvano "Can't Get My Motor to Start" from Women's Work (JSL Records) 3:07:12
  • Host speaks 3:11:39
  • Anne Mette Iversen's Ternion Quartet "The Invincible Nimbus of Mystery" from Invincible Nimbus (Brooklyn Jazz Underground Records) 3:13:30
  • Yellowjackets (feat. Luciana Souza) "Timeline" from Raising Our Voice (Mack Avenue) 3:22:18
  • For Now (feat. Isabel Crespo Pardo) "Until We Wake" from The Turning (Self released) 3:27:27
  • Host speaks 3:34:24
  • Anat Fort "Tirata Tiratata" from Colour (Sunnyside) 3:38:51
  • John Sheridan (feat. Rebecca Kilgore) "Behave Yourself" from Swing Is Still the King (Arbors ) 3:41:14
  • Dr. John "Candy" from In a Sentimental Mood (Warner Records) 3:45:37
  • New York Voices "Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens" from Sing! Sing! Sing! (Concord Records) 3:51:08
  • Host speaks 3:54:38
  • Carol Morgan "Night" from Post Cool Vol.1: The Night Shift (Self released) 3:55:38

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Post a comment


Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.