Make a difference: Support jazz online

Support All About Jazz Your friends at All About Jazz are looking for readers to help back our website upgrade project. Of critical importance, this project will result in a vastly improved reader experience across all devices and will make future All About Jazz projects much easier to implement. Click here to learn more about this project including donation rewards.


Jason Hainsworth Big Band / DePaul University Jazz Ensemble / Big Band Ritmo Sinfonica Citta di Verona / Howard University Jazz Ensemble

Jack Bowers By

Sign in to view read count
Jason Hainsworth Jazz Orchestra
DW Jazz

On his first turn at bat, composer / arranger / tenor saxophonist Jason Hainsworth has not only slammed one out of the park with Kaleidoscope but has produced a viable entrant in the big-band Record of the Year sweepstakes. The album is comprised of seven songs (three standards, four originals by Hainsworth), and every one is an unequivocal winner.

Hainsworth, a 1992 graduate of Houston's renowned High School for the Performing and Visual Arts who now teaches at Broward College in Fort Lauderdale, FL, traveled to New York City to recruit topnotch sidemen (and women) for his inaugural album. Two of the band's section leaders, alto Sharel Cassity and trumpeter Tanya Darby, are members of the fairer sex, as is bassist Linda Oh, while tenor saxophonists Peter Reardon Anderson and Will Reardon Anderson are either related or two of the most unlikely coincidences in big-band history. Lead trombonist Michael Dease (showcased on the ballad "When I Fall in Love"), who now makes his home in the Big Apple, was a colleague of Hainsworth's a decade ago at Florida State University. And last but not least, Hainsworth lassoed a brace of outstanding guest artists, trumpeter Claudio Roditi and tenor saxophonist Jon Irabagon, each of whom delivers inspired licks on Hainsworth's medium-tempo burner "It's Right There." Roditi solos again (muted) with Hainsworth and pianist Roger Lent on Howard Dietz / Arthur Schwartz's "Alone Together."

Kaleidoscopeopens with the charming Cole Porter perennial "I Concentrate on You" (solos by Cassity, Lent, Oh and drummer Phil Stewart), scored as a Jazz samba in which brass and reeds are given leave to brandish their chops. Following "Right There," "When I Fall in Love" and "Alone Together," Hainsworth ends the session with his originals "Matriarch" (written for his mother, Pat), "Marcelienne" (for his wife) and the requisite blues, "Something Stolen, Something Blue." Tom Barber's burnished flugel is front and center on the waltzing "Matriarch," Hainsworth's glossy tenor on the gentle bossa "Marcelienne," while the Basie-style "Blue" earmarks blowing space for Lent, alto Richard Miller, bass trombonist Max Seigel (using a plunger), baritone Paul Nedzela and tenor Will Reardon Anderson.

While one album does not a career make, Hainsworth has certainly taken an auspicious first step with Kaleidoscope, which is as diverse and rainbow-like as the name implies.

DePaul University Jazz Ensemble Featuring Mark Colby
Next Season
DePaul University Jazz

Over the past decade the DePaul University Jazz Ensemble has recorded with such well-known artists as Phil Woods, Clark Terry, Louie Bellson, Tom Harrell, Bob Brookmeyer, Frank Wess and Jim McNeely. On Next Season, director Bob Lark's award-winning ensemble shares the studio with tenor saxophonist Mark Colby, a seasoned pro who isn't known to more than a handful of Jazz enthusiasts outside the Chicago area but certainly should be. With Colby, a Stan Getz acolyte, smoldering on five selections and the DePaul ensemble at the top of its game, Next Season is another in an unbroken series of impressive albums by Lark's clear-eyed and enterprising scholars.

Colby, ably supported by the band, is the main man on Antonio Carlos Jobim's "A Felicidade" and "Desafinado," Wayne Shorter's "Lester Left Town," Phil Woods' "Goodbye, Mr. Evans" and Peter Chatman's "Everyday I Have the Blues," the last featuring the album's only vocal, by debonair tenor Milton Suggs. Colby is at ease in every framework, devising one eloquent phrase after another and making every solo special. And when Colby's not guiding the craft the ensemble is far from rudderless, cruising steadily ahead on the wings of splendid charts by trombonist Dominic Marino (Tadd Dameron's "Lady Bird," Miles Davis / Gil Evans' "Boplicity" and his own composition, "Wrong Place, Wrong Time"), guitarist Mike Pinto's sultry "Via Lyon," faculty member Tom Matta's spacious "Next Season" and his congenial arrangement of the plaintive "Goodbye, Mr. Evans." Pinto arranged "A Felicidade" and "Desafinado," trumpeter Scott Dickinson "Lester Left Town."

As for soloists, DePaul has a stalwart squadron of its own including Pinto ("Desafinado," "Via Lyon"), Dickinson ("Lester Left Town," "Wrong Place"), Marino ("Next Season"), flugel Joe Clark ("Mr. Evans"), alto Nick Mazzarella ("Wrong Place"), vibraphonist Justin Thomas ("Boplicity") and tenors Dan Nicholson ("Lady Bird," "Next Season") and Drew Pierson ("Via Lyon"). Even so, they are hard-pressed to outflank the ensemble, which aces every assignment with awareness and animation.


Related Video

comments powered by Disqus

More Articles

Read Albert–Hobbs Big Band / Jeff Hamilton–DePaul University Jazz Ensemble / Steve Taylor Big Band Big Band Caravan Albert–Hobbs Big Band / Jeff Hamilton–DePaul...
by Jack Bowers
Published: December 11, 2012
Read R3: Special Big Band / Gull Lake Jazz Orchestra / Empire Jazz Orchestra Big Band Caravan R3: Special Big Band / Gull Lake Jazz Orchestra / Empire...
by Jack Bowers
Published: November 17, 2012
Read Kris Berg & the Metroplexity Big Band / Michael Treni Big Band / Millennium Jazz Orchestra Big Band Caravan Kris Berg & the Metroplexity Big Band / Michael Treni...
by Jack Bowers
Published: September 9, 2012
Read Budman-Levy Orchestra / Jens Wendelboe Big Band / DiMartino-Osland Jazz Orchestra Big Band Caravan Budman-Levy Orchestra / Jens Wendelboe Big Band /...
by Jack Bowers
Published: August 7, 2012
Read James Morrison / Tall & Small / Millennium Jazz Orchestra Big Band Caravan James Morrison / Tall & Small / Millennium Jazz...
by Jack Bowers
Published: July 12, 2012
Read "Take Five with Julian Hartwell" Take Five With... Take Five with Julian Hartwell
by Julian Hartwell
Published: April 20, 2017
Read "Trumpet Miming in Film: Mostly Jive" Opinion Trumpet Miming in Film: Mostly Jive
by Steve Provizer
Published: June 23, 2017
Read "Art Pepper: Presents “West Coast Sessions” Volumes 3 & 4" Bailey's Bundles Art Pepper: Presents “West Coast Sessions”...
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: June 22, 2017
Read "Glass @ 80:  Philip Glass & Foday Musa Suso with Jeffrey Zeigler and Asher Delerme" New York @ Night Glass @ 80: Philip Glass & Foday Musa Suso with...
by Peter Jurew
Published: April 12, 2017
Read "Winter 2017" Jazz Journal Winter 2017
by Doug Collette
Published: December 11, 2017