Home » Jazz Articles » Radio & Podcasts » Feel Good Music Show


Feel Good Music Show


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

It's New Year's Eve here on the Jazz Continuum. Weather you're getting gussied up to go out, or laying low for the evening, we're here to present an evening of Feel-Good Music to keep you company.


  • Thelonious Monk "Esistrophy (Theme)" from Live at the It Club-Complete (Columbia) 00:30
  • Terry Pollard "Scrapple From The Apple" from A Detroit Jazz Legend (Fresh Sound Records) 02:15
  • Yusef Lateef "Eastern Market" from Yusef Lateef's Detroit (Collectables) 07:26
  • Gunter Baby Sommer & The Lucaciu 3 "Samba Pastouron" from Karawane (Intake Records) 11:45
  • Sonny Rollins "St. Thomas" from Saxophone Colossus (Prestige) 17:17
  • Sonny Rollins "The Everywhere Calypso" from Next Album (Milestone) 24:04
  • Fred Wesley "Doing it to Death" from 7" Single (People) 32:59
  • Lou Donaldson "Funky Mama pt. 1" from 7" Single (Blue Note) 38:04
  • Delvon Lamarr Organ Trio "Jimmy's Groove pt. 1" from 7" Single (Colemine) 41:03
  • Jimmy Smith New Sounds On the Organ "Judo Mambo" from 7" Single (Blue Note) 44:53
  • Delvon Lamarr Organ Trio "Jimmy's Groove pt. 2" from 7" Single (Colemine) 50:25
  • Lou Donaldson "Funky Mama pt. 2" from 7" Single (Blue Note) 53:03
  • Fred Wesley "Everybody Got Soul" from 7" Single (People) 56:03
  • Nina Simone "Do I Move You" from Sings the Blues (RCA Victor) 1:02:23
  • Nina Simone "Sinnerman (Felix Da Housecat's Heavenly House Mix)" from Verve Remixed 2 (Verve Records) 1:02:23
  • Christian McBride, Ahmir 'Questlove' Thompson, Uri Caine "Ain't It the Truth" from Philadelphia Experiment (Ropeadope Records) 1:09:45
  • Shirley Scott "Ain't It the Truth" from Hip Soul (Hip Soul) 1:16:39
  • Joey DeFrancesco "Soul Dancing" from More Music (Mack Avenue) 1:23:08
  • Billie Holiday "I Get A Kick Out of You" from Music for Torching (Verve) 1:29:46
  • Eddie Harris "Funkaroma" from Is It In (Atlantic) 1:36:14
  • Charles Kynard "Superstition" from Your Mama Don't Dance (Mainstreem) 1:41:13
  • The Meters "Here Comes the Meter Man" from The Meters (Josie) 1:46:00
  • Mongo Santamaria "Watermelon Man" from Watermelon Man! (Battle) 1:48:55
  • Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings "Watermelon Man" from I learned the Hard Way (Daptone Records) 1:52:26
  • Irma Thomas "Time is on My Side" from Collection: 1961-1966 (Capital Records) 1:56:05

< Previous
Not Quite Yet



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.