Home » Jazz Articles » Radio & Podcasts » Tim Berne, Geri Allen, Dave Holland + Solo Works


Tim Berne, Geri Allen, Dave Holland + Solo Works


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

This week, let's visit some Tim Berne works as interpreted by soloists, as well as some duets with the man himself. Then, one time Sun Ra bassist Tyler Mitchell presents his Octet featuring alto saxophonist Marshall Allen, followed by some other recordings by Sun Ra Arkestra alumni. The program will continue with a set of solo works from a variety of artists from cellist Okkyung Lee to bassist Luke Stewart to pianist Fats Waller, and much more.


  • Thelonious Monk "Esistrophy (Theme)" from Live at the It Club-Complete (Columbia) 01:00
  • Tim Berne, Gregg Belisle-Chi "Big Belly" from Mars (Intakt Records) 09:55
  • Tim Berne, Matt Mitchell "Purdy" from One More, Please (Intakt Records) 14:24
  • Tim Berne, Matt Mitchell "Sîïñ" from Forage (Screwgun Records) 19:45
  • Tyler Mitchell Octet "Cosmic Hop" from Sun Ra's Journey Featuring Marshall Allen (Celler Music) 25:29
  • Paul Bley Quintet "And Now The Queen" from Barrage (ESP Disk) 31:46
  • Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers "'S Make It" from 'S Make It (Limelight) 36:06
  • Ronnie Boykins "Dawn is Evening, Afternoon" from Ronnie Boykins (Limelight) 41:44
  • Dave Holland Quartet "Conference of the Birds" from Conference of the Birds (ECM Records) 48:46
  • Dave Holland "Inception" from Life Cycle (ECM Records) 53:23
  • Dave Holland Quintet "The Dragon and the Samurai" from Jumpin' In (ECM Records) 58:27
  • Steve Coleman Group "No Good Time Fairies" from Motherland Pulse (JMT Records) 1:07:00
  • Charlie Haden, Paul Motian, Geri Allen "Shuffle Montgomery" from Etudes (Soul NOte) 1:13:33
  • Geri Allen Trio "Feed The Fire" from Twenty One (Blue Note Records) 1:19:57
  • Anthony Braxton "To Artist Murray DePillars" from For Alto (Delmark Records) 1:26:58
  • Ran Blake "Drop Me Off in Harlem" from Duke Dreams (Soul Note Records) 1:31:15
  • Coleman Hawkins "Picasso" from The Jazz Scene (Verve) 1:33:19
  • Okkyung Lee "Mountain" from Na-Reul (CvsD) 1:37:22
  • Jessica Pavone "Silent Spills" from Silent Spills (Relative Pitch Records) 1:37:22
  • Luke Stewart "01" from Works for Upright Bass and Amplifier Volume Two (Astral Spirits) 1:48:08
  • Marta Warelis "A Grain of Earth" from A Grain of Earth (Relative Pitch Records) 1:50:42
  • Fats Waller "Viper's Drag" from If You Got To Ask, You Ain't Got It! (Bluebird) 1:54:15


For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.