Ted Quinlan, David S. Ware, Nicolás Boccanera and More

Bob Osborne By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

This week there is a focus on new releases from Ted Quinlan, David S. Ware, Nicolás Boccanera and Land of Kush. Other recent releases are on the playlist. Absolutely Dreaming is the latest release from Toronto jazz guitarist Ted Quinlan, who is a veteran of the Canadian jazz scene. It combines his deep roots in the tradition with an adventurous spirit and an eclectic point of view. He is joined by his longtime musical cohorts, pianist Brian Dickinson, bassist Kieran Overs, and drummer Ted Warren, each of whom brings a wealth of experience to the project, along with a shared affinity for exploring new territory. The David S. Ware album featuring his "New Quartet" was recorded at Théâtre Garonne in 2008. The release is the 5th edition in the DSW-ARC Series which was launched in 2015; this year Aum Fidelity celebrate the 70th Anniversary of his birth and the concert comes from a transitional period in Ware's ever-creative life. Nicolás Boccanera is an exciting pianist from Buenos Aires, who brings a fresh sound to the piano trio. Land Of Kush, the large orchestra assembled and directed by one of Montreal's most unique and prolific composers and musicians Sam Shalabi, released their fourth album, Sand Enigma on November 8th via Constellation. Sand Enigma is a culmination and consolidation of various musical themes, threads, relationships, and friendships between Montreal and Cairo. These selections demonstrate the eclectic nature of the world of jazz.


  • Ted Quinlan "Cheticamp" from Absolutely Dreaming (Self Released) 00:00
  • David S. Ware New Quartet "Reflection" from Théâtre Garonne, 2008 (Aum Fidelity) 08:25
  • Land of Kush "Aha" from Sand Enigma (Constellation) 20:36
  • Nicolás Boccanera Trío "Desheredo" from Recuerdo Aguja (Blue Art Records) 29:08
  • Evan Parker, Agusti Fernandez, Raivo Stasans "Location 2" from Locations (Vector Sounds) 37:15
  • Joao Lencastre's Communion 3 "Song of Hope" from Song(S) of Hope (Clean Feed) 44:55
  • Ted Quinlan "Babylon" from Absolutely Dreaming (Self Released) 52:46
  • Kenneth Jimenez, Jim Gasior, John Yarling "Thirty Miles" from Sublunary Minds (Trazu Records) 1:00:00
  • Kevin Hays, Mark Turner, Marc Miralta "Waltz for Wolleson" from Where Are You (Fresh Sounds Records) 1:06:45
  • Massimo Falascone Seven "Homorchestra" from Méliès (Fonterossa Records) 1:14:26
  • Nicolás Boccanera Trío "Dulce 11" from Recuerdo Aguja (Blue Art Records) 1:22:28
  • Land of Kush "Sand Enigma" from Sand Enigma (Constellation) 1:31:09
  • David S. Ware New Quartet "Crossing Samsara, part 1" from Théâtre Garonne, 2008 (Aum Fidelity) 1:39:29
  • Ted Quinlan "Absolutely Dreaming" from Absolutely Dreaming (Self Released) 1:55:00


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles