Home » Jazz Articles » Nicole Mitchell + Some Johnny Hodges 45s


Radio & Podcasts

Nicole Mitchell + Some Johnny Hodges 45s


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

This week, our featured artist will be creative flutist, composer and educator Nicole Mitchell whose music we will explore in a variety of contexts. Our featured recording will be an old 1952 box of 45s titled "Johnny Hodges and his Alto Sax" that I picked up this week plus recent releases from Avram Fefer, Ben Wolf, Kenny Barron and others. Travel the Jazz Continuum!


  • Thelonious Monk "Esistrophy (Theme)" from Live at the It Club-Complete (Columbia) 01:00
  • Nicole Mitchell's Ice Crystal "Yearning" from Aquarius (Delmark) 02:30
  • Johnny Hodges "Main Stem" from Everybody Knows Johnny Hodges (Impulse!) 09:16
  • Johnny Hodges "Squaty Roo" from Johnny Hodges and His Alto Sax (RCA Victor) 13:14
  • Johnny Hodges "Day Dream" from Johnny Hodges and His Alto Sax (RCA Victor) 16:02
  • Johnny Hodges "That's The Blues Old Man" from Johnny Hodges and His Alto Sax (RCA Victor) 18:58
  • World Saxophone Quartet "Lush Life" from Plays Duke Ellington (Nonesuch) 22:02
  • Nicole Mitchell Black Earth Ensemble "Towards Excellence" from Moments of Fatherhood (Rogue Art) 29:32
  • Rob Mazurek Exploding Star Orchestra "A Wrinkle In Time Sets Concentric Circles Reeling" from Dimensional Stardust (Nonesuch, International Anthem) 35:15
  • Matthew Shipp Trio, Nicole Mitchell "Void of Ground" from All Things Are (Rogue Art) 41:43
  • Kenny Barron "Well You Needn't" from The Source (Artwork Records) 49:10
  • Kenny Barron "Passion Flower" from Wanton Spirit (Verve) 54:41
  • Andrew Hill "Ball Square" from Shades (Soul Note) 1:02:18
  • Nicole Mitchell Black Earth Ensemble "The Ooli Moves" from Intergalactic Beings (FPE Records) 1:08:52
  • Nicole Mitchell "Center of the Earth" from Awakening (Delmark) 1:16:58
  • Nicole Mitchell Sonic Projections "Ritual and Rebellion" from Awakening (Rogue Art) 1:24:06
  • Avram Fefer Quartet "Juba Lee" from Juba Lee (Clean Feed) 1:34:14
  • Ben Wolfe "Lullaby In D" from Unjust (Resident Arts Records) 1:40:31
  • Johnny Hodges And His Orchestra "Cool your Moter" from Blues A-Plenty (Verve Records) 1:48:08
  • Marc Ribot "Solitude" from Don't Blame Me (DIW Records) 1:51:44

Post a comment

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.