Home » Jazz Articles » Radio & Podcasts » Halloween Mischief, Spirits and Sweet Stuff


Halloween Mischief, Spirits and Sweet Stuff

Click the play button to listen

Our Halloween broadcast is full of musical mischief, spirits and sweet stuff, with new releases from Giacomo Gates, Ayn Inserto, Alyssa Allgood and Vivian Sessoms, plus birthday shout outs to Milton Nascimento, Jazz Master Dianne Reeves, Jay Clayton, Cleo Laine and Andy Bey.


  • Amanda Monaco "The Mean Reds" from Glitter (Posi-Tone Records) 00:00
  • Alyssa Allgood "Exactly Like You" from Exactly Like You (Cellar Live) 05:24
  • Dizzy Gillespie & Roy Eldridge "Pretty Eyed Baby" from Roy and Diz (Polygram Records) 09:37
  • Jeff Rupert with Veronica Swift "Pennies from Heaven" from Let's Sail Away (Self released) 15:10
  • Host speaks 19:50
  • Leslie Pintchik "You Eat My Food, You Drink My Wine, You Steal My Girl" from You Eat My Food, You Drink My Wine You Steal My Girl (Pintch Hard Records) 23:36
  • Una Mae Carlisle "Oh I'm Evil" from Divas, Vol. 2 (Broken Audio) 28:17
  • Frank Sinatra "Witchcraft" from Ultimate Sinatra (Capitol) 30:39
  • Rene Marie "I'd Rather Be Burned as a Witch" from I Wanna Be Evil (With Love to Eartha Kitt) (Motema Music) 33:31
  • Host speaks 37:30
  • Teri Parker "Ghost of Time" from In the Past (Self released) 39:27
  • Sue Maskaleris "Mischief Night" from Unbreakable Heart (Jazilian) 43:20
  • Chelsea McBride's Socialist Night School "Spirits" from The Twilight Fall (Self released) 47:05
  • Madeleine Peyroux "The Ghosts of Tomorrow" from Anthem (Verve) 50:48
  • Host speaks 54:57
  • Mary Halvorson "Thunderhead" from Code Girl (Firehouse 12 Records) 56:00
  • Myra Melford "Language" from Snowy Egret (Yellowbird Records) 1:00:57
  • Giacomo Gates "Hungry Man" from G8S (9th Note Records) 1:06:19
  • Vivian Sessoms "People Make the World Go Round" from Life (Ropeadope) 1:10:17
  • Host speaks 1:16:33
  • Shamie Royston "Precious Lullaby" from Beautiful Liar (Sunnyside) 1:19:18
  • Typhanie Monique "Letting My Love Go" from Call It Magic (Dot Time Records) 1:21:53
  • Beat Kaestli "Eso (Duet)" from Far From Home (Self released) 1:26:37
  • Host speaks 1:31:32
  • Nancy Marano and Eddie Monteiro "Make the City Ours Tonight" from Double Standards (Denon) 1:33:40
  • Mark Murphy "Empty Faces" from Colin Curtis Presents Jazz Dance Fusion (Z Records) 1:37:04
  • Lauren Henderson "Bajito" from Riptide (Brontosaurus Records) 1:42:17
  • Susannah McCorkle "Dilema (Dilemma)" from Sabia (Concord Records) 1:47:18
  • Host speaks 1:50:35
  • Helen Sung "Lament for Kalief Browder" from Sung With Words/em> (Stricker Street) 1:52:54
  • Miggy Augmented Orchestra "Captain Miggy's Age of Discovery" from Colorful (ArtistShare) 2:00:12
  • Double Bass Double Voice "Woke Up This Morning/This Little Light of Mine" from Ribbons in the Sky (Self released) 2:06:32
  • Aimée Allen "In My Web" from Wings Uncaged (Azuline) 2:11:51
  • Host speaks 2:17:23
  • Diane Witherspoon "Child's Play" from Diane Witherspoon Live (Lifeforce Jazz) 2:23:57
  • Andy Bey "On Second Thought" from Ain't Necessarily So (12th Street Records) 2:30:19
  • Host speaks 2:39:34
  • Ayn Inserto "Three And Me" from Down a Rabbit Hole (Summit) 2:41:42
  • Lorraine Feather "Random Activity" from Math Camp (Relarian) 2:50:27
  • Host speaks 2:56:38
  • Allison Miller & Carmen Staaf"MLW" from Science Fair (Sunnyside) 2:57:20
  • Cecilia Sanchietti "Sweet & Bitter" from La Terza Via (Blujazz) 3:02:07
  • Kat Gang "The Sweet Life" from Come Closer (NKR Records) 3:08:18
  • John Pizzarelli "Candy" from P.S. Mr. Cole (RCA Victor) 3:10:54
  • Jennifer Gammill "Candy Wrappers" from Heart, Soul & Fire (Self released) 3:16:24
  • Host speaks 3:19:33
  • Way North "Fearless and Kind" from Fearless and Kind (Independent) 3:24:16
  • Dianne Reeves "Tango" from Beautiful Life (Concord Records) 3:29:50
  • Yellowjackets featuring Luciana Souza "Solitude" from Raising Our Voice (Mack Avenue) 3:36:25
  • Host speaks 3:40:39
  • Cleo Laine "In the Days of Our Love" from Woman to Woman (RCA Victor) 3:43:27
  • Jenna Mammina "It's Only Love" from Begin to Dance (Water Street Music) 3:47:06
  • Jay Clayton "I May Remember Him" from Unraveling Emily (Sunnyside) 3:50:12
  • Host speaks 3:53:56
  • Jane Ira Bloom "Emily & Her Atoms" from Wild Lines: Improvising Emily Dickinson (Outline) 3:54:52



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.