Home » Jazz Articles » Radio & Podcasts » 21 Standards on Tap


21 Standards on Tap


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

What makes a song a standard? How does a tune enter the commonly shared repertoire that jazz musicians have been expected to know at any moment? Tonight, we spin a variety of well-worn standards for your listening pleasure. Sonny Rollins once said, "Jazz and standards are forever locked in loving embrace." Some commentary in this episode is inspired by Ted Gioia's Book, The Jazz Standards, A Guide to the Repertoire.


  • The Delfonics "La-La-Means I love You" from single (Philly Groove Records) 00:00
  • Thelonious Monk "Epistrophe (Theme)" from Live at the It Club-Complete (Columbia) 03:36
  • Rahsaan Roland Kirk "Sweet Georgia Brown" from The Return of the 5000 lb. Man (Warner Bros. Records) 05:36
  • Illinois Jacquet and His Orchestra "Stardust" from History of Jazz (Verve Records) 10:37
  • Johnny Hodges "The Sheik of Araby" from single (Norgran Records) 14:16
  • Cecile McLorin Salvant "Jitterbug Waltz" from Woman Child (Mack Avenue) 17:34
  • Anthony Braxton "Why Shouldn't I" from Quartet (Standards) 2020 (New Braxton House) 25:57
  • Sonny Rollins, Coleman Hawkins "Yesterdays" from Sonny Meets Hawk) (RCA Victor) 35:38
  • Thumbscrew "East of the Sun" from Theirs (Cuneiform Records) 40:50
  • Keef Jackson, Oscar Jan Hoogland, Joshua Abrams, Mikel Patrick Avery "Epistrophe" from These Things Happen (Astral Spirits) 45:41
  • Dorothy Donegan "Prelude To A Kiss—Mood Indigo—Perdido and Take The A Train" from Live at the Widder Bar (Timeless Records) 1:02:48
  • Yusef Lateef "I Remember Clifford" from Live at Pep's Volume Two (Impulse!) 1:16:54
  • Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis "Misty" from single (Prestige) 1:30:20
  • Sarah Vaughan, Clifford Brown "You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To" from single (EmArcy) 1:40:00
  • Helen Sung Trio "Autumn Leaves" from Helenistique (Fresh Sound New Talent) 1:45:46
  • Tyshawn Sorey Trio "Willow Weep for Me" from Mesmerism (Self Released) 1:52:12
  • Kahil El'Zabar Quartet "Summertime" from A Time For Healing (Spirit Muse Records) 2:00:57

< Previous
Jazz Is Dead 13



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.