Michael Formanek Live plus new and forthcoming releases

Bob Osborne By

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
In this edition of the show there are lots of new and forthcoming releases including music from the Orbit577, Edition Records and ears&eyes labels. I am also continuing my exploration of the back catalogue of Italian saxophonist Felice Clemente. The main focus of the show is new work from impressive guitarist Dan Pitt, and, a fascinating meeting between Florian Arbenz and Greg Osby. I also feature an exciting live album from the bassist and composer Michael Formanek which features music recorded in 2014.


  • Michael Formanek Quartet "Pong" from Pre-Apocalyptic (Out of Your Head Records) 00:00
  • Florian Arbenz, Greg Osby "Wooden Lines" from Reflections of the Eternal Line (Hammer Recordings) 07:37
  • Dan Pitt "Ghosts" from Monochrome (Self Released) 15:59
  • Felice Clemente "Nuvole Di Carta" from Nuvole Di Carta (Crossroads of Sounds) 20:37
  • John Blevins' Matterhorn "We Know What We Need" from Idyllwild EP (ears&eyes) 28:14
  • Ben Wendel "Drawn Away" from High Heart (Edition Records) 33:22
  • Bocana "Vista La Vista" from Vista La Vista (Self Released) 40:59
  • Michael Formanek Quartet "Soft Reality" from Pre-Apocalyptic (Out of Your Head Records) 46:57
  • Florian Arbenz, Greg Osby "Chant" from Reflections Of The Eternal Line (Hammer Recordings) 55:03
  • Felice Clemente "Inside Changes" from Nuvole Di Carta (Crossroads Of Sounds) 1:00:30
  • John Blevins' Matterhorn "Pico" from Idyllwild EP (ears&eyes) 1:03:39
  • Dan Pitt "Which Way Is Up" from Monochrome (Self Released) 1:09:02
  • Lionel Loueke "Cantaloupe Island" from HH (Edition Records) 1:12:43
  • Matthew Putman and Michael Sarian "Part 1 (Nature Boy)" from Improvisations Vol. II (Orbit577) 1:16:40
  • Michael Formanek Quartet "Twenty Three Neo" from Pre-Apocalyptic (Out of Your Head Records) 1:23:07
  • Florian Arbenz & Greg Osby "Truth" from Reflections of the Eternal Line (Hammer Recordings) 1:32:22
  • Dan Pitt "Lester Sleeps In" from Monochrome (Self Released) 1:36:13
  • Felice Clemente "Lost in Blues" from Nuvole Di Carta (Crossroads Of Sounds) 1:43:23
  • John Blevins' Matterhorn "Triesnecker" from Idyllwild EP (ears&eyes) 1:47:39
  • Strange Winds "Lullaby to a Lost Llama" from Llamas in Chicago (ears&eyes) 1:53:01

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Singing and Plinkin'

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Charles Mingus: An Essential Top Ten Albums
Read Top Ten Kennedy Center Musical Moments

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.