David León, Sean Conly, Thomas Heberer & more Jerry Granelli

Maurice Hogue BY

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
Aire De Agua from saxophonist David Leon is a very impressive recording. It's one of the highlights of this episode. Bassist Sean Conly keeps his string of fine recordings going with his latest, The Buzz, and you'll hear samples from other new releases from two Argentinians, drummer Axel Filip and saxophonist Rodrigo Dominguez, trumpeter Thomas Heberer, and two from Portugal, saxophonist Jose Lencastre's Nau Quartet and vibraphonist Paulo Santo. Some Jerry Granelli for you as well.


  • Ches Smith & We All Break "Leaves Alive" from Path Of Seven Colours (Pyroclastic) 00:00
  • Host speaks 09:34
  • Jim Yanda "Path" from Silent Way (Cornerstore Jazz) 11:26
  • Francisco Mela "Dark Light" from Music Frees Our Soul Vol. 1 (577 Records) 20:05
  • Isaiah Collier "Humility" from Cosmic Transitions (Division 81) 23:49
  • Host speaks 34:06
  • Sean Conly "The Stretch" from The Buzz (577 Records) 35:50
  • El Devenir Del Rio "Para Marilyn" from Invocación (Ears & Eyes) 40:45
  • El Devenir Del Rio "Caza De Brujas" from Invocación (Ears & Eyes) 43:36
  • Host speaks 49:20
  • David León "Horrible Horrible Service" from Aire De Agua (Out Of Your Head) 52:15
  • David León "First You Must Learn The Grip" from Aire De Agua (Out Of Your Head) 56:27
  • Jerry Granelli & Badlands "The Dragon" from Enter A Dragon (Songlines) 1:01:15
  • Jerry Granelli V16 Project "It's A Man's World" from The Sonic Temple (Songlines) 1:10:14
  • Host speaks 1:19:17
  • José Lencastre Nau Quartet "Thought Atmospheres" from Thoughts Are Things (Phonogram Unit) 1:21:10
  • Thomas Heberer "Jimi Metag" from The Day That Is (Sunnyside) 1:29:14
  • Host speaks 1:33:41
  • Thomas Heberer "Erg Chebbi" from The Day That Is (Sunnyside) 1:34:40
  • Adam Pieronczyk "Frameless Thinking" from I'll Colour Around It (Self-released) 1:39:50
  • Adam Pieronczyk "Alhena" from Oaxaca (Self-released) 1:51:38
  • Host speaks 1:54:24
  • Sean Conly "Sweetie Pie" from The Buzz (577 Records) 1:55:01
  • Dolphiana "Gazelloni" from The Spiritual Man (Self-released) 2:00:30
  • Danilo Gallo & Alberto Dipace "Leads You To" from Collera City (Aut Records) 2:06:27
  • Host speaks 2:12:07
  • Paulo Santo "Freefall" from Agueda (Robalo Music) 2:13:26
  • Rodrigo Dominguez "Mucho Mejor Que Esta Pocilga" from Borocotopo (Ears & Eyes) 2:21:10
  • Resilient Vessels "Green Paper Tea" from Live At The Cell (RRGems) 2:29:17
  • Host speaks 2:36:00
  • Axel Filip "Al Rio" from Sendero (Ears & Eyes) 2:37:42
  • David Boykin Expanse "Empowerment (We Are Sunlight)" from Progenitor (Self-released) 4:24:53
  • Host speaks 2:54:05
  • Larry Ochs & Donald Robinson "A Civil Right" from A Civil Right (ESP-Disk) 2:54:51

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Rick Beato

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Wayne Shorter: An Essential Top Ten Albums
Read John Clayton: Career Reflections
Read Mark Murphy: An Essential Top Ten Albums
Read Fire Music: The Story of Free Jazz
Read Immanuel Wilkins: Omega is Just the Beginning

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.