Home » Jazz Articles » Antonio Adolfo: Jobim Forever


Album Review

Antonio Adolfo: Jobim Forever


Sign in to view read count
Antonio Adolfo: Jobim Forever
Pianist, composer, educator and arranger extraordinaire, Antonio Adolfo has been at the forefront of the samba and bossa nova genre for decades. A proponent of the music of Antonio Carlos Jobim, Adolfo pays tribute to the genre master on the splendid Jobim Forever. This homage focuses on the icon's work from the 1960s, selecting songs that are instantly recognizable as being a part of an era that put Rio de Janeiro on the jazz landscape.

In addition to himself on piano, the leader assembles a well-seasoned band of players, ten in all, every one of which he has previously performed with. When exploring the music of Jobim one cannot begin without mentioning his biggest hit: "The Girl from Ipanema," the starting point of this album featuring an impressive Adolfo arrangement that adds a bit of swing to the classic. The arrangement for the immortal "Wave" was inspired by one penned for Brazilian singers Elis Regina and daughter Carol Saboya featuring a superb solo from trombonist Rafael Rocha.

The song that was most influential in making Adolfo a musician and a part of the bossa nova scene was "A Felicidade," delivered with a new arrangement that includes a vocal appearance from Zé Renato and a trumpet solo from Jesse Sadoc. The trumpeter plays the major role on the heavenly "How Insensitive," with a secondary participation from flautist Marcelo Martins on another beautiful rendition of this time-honored tune.

Other standards here include "Agua De Beber," "Inutil Paisagem" and "Estrada Do Sol." Another gem of an album from Adolfo as he presents nine classic, well-travelled Jobim songs, offering just a slice of musical mastery that might well have the late bossa nova master smiling from above.

Track Listing

The Girl From Ipanema; Wave; A Felicidade; How Insensitive; Favela (O Morro Nao Tem Vez); Inutil Paisagem; Agua De Beber; Amparo/Intro:Por Toda A Minha Vida; Estrada Do Sol


Antonio Adolfo: piano; Jesse Sadoc: trumpet; Marcelo Martins: woodwinds; Danilo Sinna: saxophone, alto; Rafael Rocha: trombone; Lula Galvão: guitar; Jorge Helder: bass, acoustic; Rafael Barata: drums; Dada Costa: percussion; Paulo Braga: drums; Zé Renato: voice / vocals.

Album information

Title: Jobim Forever | Year Released: 2021 | Record Label: AAM Music

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



The Way To You
Sara Caswell
Retrato Anos Despues
Emiliano Aires & Santiago Bogacz
Crustal Movement
Kaze & Ikue Mori


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.