Home » Jazz Articles » Manu Katché: Touchstone for Manu

Album Review

Manu Katché: Touchstone for Manu


Sign in to view read count
Manu Katché: Touchstone for Manu
Drummer Manu Katche found the spotlight supplying the groove to recordings by rock artists Peter Gabriel and Sting, then to jazz artists Jan Garbarek and Herbie Hancock. His four ECM recordings as leader showed him to be an accomplished composer and bandleader as well. Now that he has apparently left the label, Touchstone for Manu is a specially-priced compilation that gives roughly equal weight to each of those sessions.

The style is basically acoustic jazz, with rock grooves rather than swing. Katché's drumming is at the heart of the band, but these selections include no drum solos—he makes his presence felt by composing all of the music, and driving the band from the drum kit. The first two albums, Neighbourhood (ECM, 2004) and Playground (ECM, 2007) share a common rhythm section of Katché plus pianist Marcin Wasilewski and double bassist Slawomir Kurkiewicz. Neighbourhood featured the star horn section of saxophonist Jan Garbarek (returning the favor for Manu's playing in his band) and trumpeter Tomasz Stanko. Playground substituted saxophonist Trygve Seim and trumpeter Mathias Eick on the front line.

It's notable that the collection opens with "Song For Her" from the second album. A memorable tune, which lacks the instantly recognizable sound of Garbarek's saxophone. If you want your own sound, sometimes it's better to avoid the star guests. Which is not to accuse Garbarek and Stanko of overplaying; they simply have a higher profile. The tone of both albums is well summarized by the song title "So Groovy."

Third Round (ECM, 2009) introduced a new group, featuring pianist Jason Rebello, fretless electric bass guitarist Pino Palladino (best known for his work with singer Paul Young), and saxophonist Tore Brunborg. "Keep On Trippin'" also included guitarist Jacob Young, adding an interesting color to the texture. Palladino's playing takes the "groove" quotient up a notch.

Manu Katché (ECM, 2012) changed direction by leaving the bass out altogether, except when provided by Jim Watson's Hammond B3 organ (or piano). The group was filled out by returning saxophonist Tore Brunborg, and Nils Petter Molvaer's trumpet and loops. Although the ensemble looks more electronic than the previous ones, it's still in the same acoustic jazz camp.

This is an enjoyable compilation, with a sufficiently unified approach to avoid the patchwork effect that plagues some similar albums. It's an opportunity to catch up on Manu Katché's work as a leader, as well as an easy recommendation for fans of any of his sidemen.

Track Listing

Song For Her; Number One; Take Off And Land; So Groovy; Morning Joy; Keep On Trippin’; Senses; Swing Piece; Running After Years; Slowing The Tides; Bliss.


Mathias Eick: trumpet; Tomasz Stanko: trumpet; Nils Petter Molvaer: trumpet, loops; Jan Garbarek: tenor saxophone; Trygve Seim: tenor saxophone; Tore Brunborg: saxophones; Jacob Young: guitars; Marcin Wasilewski: piano; Jason Rebello: piano; Jim Watson: piano, Hammond B3 organ; Slawomir Kurkiewicz: double bass; Pino Palladino: bass; Manu Katché: drums.

Album information

Title: Touchstone for Manu | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: ECM Records

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Post a comment about this album




Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.