Roots Magic, Audio Cave Artists & Alan Braufman

Maurice Hogue BY

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
A new release by the Italian Quartet Roots Magic is always welcome. Their contemporary and improvisatory approach to old blues tunes and the way they always put their own touch on the music of avant-garde jazz composers is kind of unique on the European scene. Take Root Among the Stars, out on Clean Feed, should be right up there with the best of 2020 releases. Also from Italy comes music by the The Auanders, a larger ensemble formed initially for a visit to New York arranged some years back by the busy Auand label, and a track from the Livio Bartolo Variable Unit. Speaking of record labels, Warsaw's Audio Cave artists are sampled, and there's more from Clean Feed's latest batch. You'll also hear a preview of the upcoming release by Loft veteran Alan Braufman, and music from a new name on the scene, saxophonist Max Bessensen.


  • Roots Magic "Devil Got My Woman" from Take Root Among the Stars (Clean Feed) 00:00
  • Host speaks 08:22
  • Roots Magic "Humility in the Light of the Creator" from Take Root Among the Stars (Clean Feed) 10:00
  • Sergio Verdinelli Trio "El Intragante" from No Me Digas Loco (Ears & Eyes) 15:36
  • Steffen Schorn & Norwegian Wind Ensemble "Malacungué" from Hermeto's Universe (Paschen) 21:45
  • Russ Lossing Trio "Furiosa" from Mood Suite (Steeplechase) 26:50
  • Host speaks 31:50
  • Hunger Pangs "Hollyn The Goat" from II (Audio Cave) 32:54
  • Max Bessensen "Mayhem" from Trouble (Ropeadope) 44:05
  • Host speaks 50:54
  • The Auanders "Fies" from Text (us) (Auand) 52:33
  • Martin Kuchen & Mathias Landaeus "Love Flee Thy House (In Breslau)" from Mind the Gap of Silence (Clean Feed) 59:44
  • Host speaks 1:07:28
  • Who Trio "The Mooche" from Strell (Clean Feed) 1:08:49
  • Eivind Opsvik & Overseas "Doggerbanken" from Overseas Live (2002 -2012) (Loyal Label) 1:16:05
  • Abbey Rader & John McGinn "Freedom with Roots" from Duo from the Heart (Abray) 1:21:52
  • Host speaks 1:28:33
  • Livio Bartolo Variable Unit "Torre Ovo-Librari-Trullo De Mare" from Don't Beat a Dead Horse (Dodicilune) 1:29:33
  • Whit Dickey Trio "Desert Flower" from Expanding Light (Tao Forms) 1:36:48
  • Hunger Pangs "HP Sovs" from II (Audio Cave) 1:44:45
  • Host speaks 1:53:14
  • Luis Nubiola "Neo" from Ten Plagues (Private Edition) 1:53:53
  • Alan Braufman "Home" from The Fire Still Burns (Control Group) 1:59:34
  • Host speaks 2:05:22
  • O.N.E. Quintet "Something Impossible Possible" from One (Audio Cave) 2:07:31
  • Lisa Ullen, Joe Williamson & Erik Carlsson "Solid" from Slow Dance (Self-released) 2:16:40
  • Thumbscrew "Composition #52" from The Anthony Braxton Project (Cuneiform) 223:49
  • Host speaks 2:28:09
  • Diomede "Gwda Mala" from Przsypiewki ( Audio Cave) 2:29:06
  • Christophe Monniot "Free Noisy" from Freestyles (Le Triton) 2:36:29
  • James Brandon Lewis, Chad Taylor "Come Sunday" from Live In Willisau (Intakt) 2:40:17
  • Horace Tapscott "One for Lately" from The Dark Tree (Hat Art) 2:43:57
  • Host speaks 2:54:07
  • The Auanders "Song to the Unborn" from Text (us) (Auand) 2:54:34

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Rick Beato

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.