New albums from Eric St-Laurent, Logan Strosahl and Taylor Ho Bynum

Bob Osborne By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

This week we feature albums from Eric St-Laurent, Taylor Ho Bynum 9-tette and Logan Strosahl.

The philosopher Joseph Campbell wrote extensively about "following one's bliss." These influential writings form the conceptual basis for Bliss Station, the 13th album of original music by Toronto-based guitarist and composer Eric St-Laurent.

Taylor Ho Bynum's latest release brings together some of the best current players on the circuit to create an album which is both accessible and eccentric in equal measure.

Logan Strosahl is a restless polymath, drawing deeply upon 16th and 17th century classical, contemporary music, international folk forms and jazz. His new trio album brings his considerable skills as a winds player to the fore.

There is also a selection of music featuring Daniel Carter and Silvia Bolognesi and other recent releases.


  • Eric St-Laurent "Bliss Station" from Bliss Station (Self Released) 00:00
  • Logan Strosahl "Bark" from Sure (Sunnyside) 07:41
  • Taylor Ho Bynum 9-tette "Neither When Nor Where" from The Ambiguity Manifesto (Firehouse 12) 13:04
  • Christophe Rocher, Joe Fonda, Harvey Sorgen "Read This" from New Origin (Not Two Records) 19:01
  • Daniel Carter, Bradley Farberman, Billy Martin "The Time Is Near" from Just Don't Die (Ropeadope) 24:25
  • Silvia Bolognesi Young Shouts "Chicago Summer Storm" from aLive Shouts, An Homage to Bessie Jones (Fonterossa Records) 31:51
  • Taylor Ho Bynum 9-tette "Ally Enter" from The Ambiguity Manifesto (Firehouse 12) 40:02
  • Eric St-Laurent "Mustard Arizona" from Bliss Station (Self Released) 47:10
  • Zlatko Kaučič, Michael Moore, Silvia Bolognesi, Marco Colonna, Albert Cirera "Koprena" from Morning Patches (Fundacja Słuchaj!) 51:30
  • Logan Strosahl "Isfahan" from Sure (Sunnyside) 1:00:45
  • Cooper-Moore, Stephen Gauci "Improvisation #4" from Studio Sessions Vol. 1 (Gauci Music) 1:05:26
  • Alfio Origlio "Le Clan Des Siciliens" from Absyrations (Alfio Origilio) 1:12:38
  • Daniel Carter, Julian Priester, Adam Lane, Reggie Sylvester, David Haney "Construction Number 6" from Live Constructions Vol. 2 (SLAM Productions) 1:19:23
  • Taylor Ho Bynum 9-tette "Under Real [For Old Music]" from The Ambiguity Manifesto (Firehouse 12) 1:31:56
  • Logan Strosahl "Three" from Sure (Sunnyside) 1:41:07
  • Eric St-Laurent "Less" from Bliss Station (Self Released) 1:48:59
  • Art Pepper "Patricia" from The Return of Art Pepper (Jazz West) 1:56:50

Post a comment


Shop Amazon


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.