Home » Jazz Articles » Wrapping Up Womens History Month With New Releases and Birthday Sh...

Radio & Podcasts

Wrapping Up Womens History Month With New Releases and Birthday Shoutouts To Aretha Franklin And Sarah Vaughan


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

This broadcast wraps up Womens History Month featuring new releases from Bill Cunliffe, Jeff Coffin & Helen Gillet, vocalists Joanie Pallatto, Hannah Baiardi and Georgia Mancio plus birthday shoutouts to Sarah Vaughan, Aretha Franklin, Meredith d'Ambrosio, Renee Rosnes, Hiromi, Mimi Jones and Stacey Kent, among others. Thanks for listening and please support the artists you hear by purchasing their music during this time of lockdown.


  • Artemis " Big Top" from Artemis (Blue Note) 00:00
  • Joanie Pallatto "My Original Plan" from My Original Plan (Southport Records) 04:56
  • Meredith D'Ambrosio "Dearly Beloved/Clearly Beloved" from Beware of Spring (Sunnyside ) 10:24
  • Host speaks 14:58
  • Bill Cunliffe, John Patitucci and Vinnie Colaiuta "Good Morning Heartache" from Trio (Le Coq Records) 16:23
  • Aretha Franklin "Moody's Mood" from Aretha's Jazz (Atlantic) 21:51
  • Host speaks 24:44
  • Yelena Eckemoff "Children Playing With Seed Pods" from Adventures of the Wildflower (L&H Music) 26:06
  • Sarah Vaughan "Shulie A Bop" from The Divine Miss V (Jazz World) 30:52
  • Sarah Vaughan "On the Other Side of the Tracks" from Sassy Swings Again (Mercury) 33:32
  • Host speaks 37:06
  • Jeff Coffin & Helen Gillet "Sometimes Springtime" from Let It Shine (Ear Up Records) 38:06
  • Peter Eldridge "Deep Down" from My Museum (Self released) 43:40
  • Janis Siegel "Hard Candy Christmas" from Crying In My Whiskey (Night Is Alive) 47:15
  • Host speaks 51:38
  • Hiromi & Edmar Castanada "The Elements (Air)" from Live In Montreal (Telarc) 53:05
  • Lisa Parrott and Nicki Parrott "Six Nettes" from The Awabakal Suite (MonkeyPants Records) 1:00:00
  • Nicholas King "You Must Believe In Spring" from Act One (Club44) 1:04:45
  • Hannah Baiardi "The Summer Knows" from Straight From the Soul (Self Released) 1:10:20
  • Host speaks 1:15:41
  • Mimi Jones "One 4jb" from Feet In the Mud (Self released) 1:17:15
  • Georgia Mancio & Alan Broadbent "When You're Gone From Me" from Quiet Is the Star (Roomspin Records) 1:22:17
  • Jacqui Naylor "Love Look What You've Done" from The Long Game (Ruby Star Records) 1:27:25
  • Host speaks 1:30:53
  • Yoko Miwa "The Rainbirds" from Songs of Joy (Ubunto Music) 1:31:49
  • Stacey Kent "To Say Goodbye" from I Know I Dream: The Orchestral Sessions (Okeh Records) 1:38:21
  • Host speaks 1:43:37
  • Rachel Therrien "Parity" from Vena (Bonsai) 1:44:37
  • Susie Arioli "Spring" from Spring (DEP) 1:49:03
  • Danny Bacher "Joy Spring" from Still Happy (Whaling City Sound) 1:51:38
  • Host speaks 1:55:38
  • Vivien Garry Quintet "A Woman's Place Is In the Groove" from A Woman's Place Is In the Groove (PNR) 1:57:07

Post a comment


View events near New York City
Jazz Near New York City
Events Guide | Venue Guide | Local Businesses | More...

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Top 10 Moments in Jazz History
Genius Guide to Jazz
Top 10 Moments in Jazz History
Read Emilio Solla: The Chemistry of Music
Read Take Five with Monday Michiru
Read Freihofer’s Saratoga Jazz Festival
Read Henry Threadgill: 9 Plus Essential Albums
Read Bobby Sanabria: Giving Credit Where It's Due

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.