New music from Wojtek Mazolewski


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

On this show the featured release is the latest album by Wojtek Mazolewski

Following the rhapsodic response to his debut Whirlwind release—a deluxe edition of Polka which, internationally, broke through into dance clubs and rock and indie festivals—the double bassist now focuses attention on the music of his compatriot Krzysztof Komeda (1931—1969), a legend of Polish jazz and an illustrious Hollywood film composer. When Angels Fall again features his inventive quintet of Oskar Stenmark (trumpet, electronics), Marek Pospieszalski (tenor saxophone), Joanna Duda (Wurlitzer, grand piano) and Qba Janicki (drums, percussion) as they explore the prolific output of this enigmatic and tragically departed creative talent.

As always, in addition to the featured album there is a selection of recent releases with a leaning towards improvisation and the avant-garde.


  • Wojtek Mazolewski Quintet "When Angels Fall" from When Angels Fall (Whirlwind) 00:00
  • Ben Markley Quartet "Sentience" from Slow Play (OA2 Records) 05:22
  • John Heward Quintet "Improvisation 4" from John Heward Quintet (Mode Records) 11:56
  • Konstrukt "Lotus Variations Part 1" from Live at Cafe Oto, Again (Konstrukt Music) 33:12
  • Daniel Bernardes & Drumming GP "Bolero" from Liturgy of the Birds, In Memoriam Olivier Messiaen (Clean Feed) 42:22
  • Wojtek Mazolewski Quintet "Crazy Girl" from When Angels Fall (Whirlwind) 53:33
  • Georg Graewe, Ernst Reijseger, Gerry Hemingway "Cadrage III" from Concertgebouw Brugge 2014 (Fundacja Słuchaj!) 1:00:00
  • Joshua Cusack Art Ensemble "Wake Up" from Playing Well With Others (Joshua Cusack) 1:12:17
  • Peter Brötzmann, Alexander von Schlippenbach, Han Bennink "Street Jive" from Fifty Years After... (Trost Records) 1:22:56
  • Gary Smulyan, Ralph Moore Quintet "Punjab" from Bird's Eye Encounter (Fresh Sound) 1:30:10
  • Wojtek Mazolewski Quintet "Sleep Safe and Warm" from When Angels Fall (Whirlwind) 1:42:34
  • Evan Parker, Barry Guy, Paul Lytton "Part 1" from Concert in Vilnius (No Business Records) 1:47:29

Post a comment


Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Betty Carter: Along Came Betty
Read Who's The Hippest Chick In Town? Anita.
Read Billie's Last Chorus
First Time I Saw
Billie's Last Chorus
Read Dr. Billy Taylor
First Time I Saw
Dr. Billy Taylor
Read From George Coleman to Meeco: Ten Overlooked Classics
Read Bill Frisell: Never Ending Revelations
Read Ugly Beauty: Jazz In The 21st Century

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.