Ben Goldberg, Jason Robinson, Orchestre National De Jazz and More

Maurice Hogue By

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
This episode is a little "reed" heavy with debuts of new recordings by Jason Robinson and his quartet, Ben Goldberg and Kenny Wollesen's Music for an Avant-Garde Massage Parlor, Portugal's Jose Lencastre, Rachel Musson from England, and I.P.A. from Scandinavia, plus several other saxophonically inclined folks. The Orchestre National de Jazz from France tackles the music of Ornette Coleman on Dancing in Your Head(s), while the duo of Matthew Putnam and Michael Sarian take a trip into the avant-garde. Lots more for you as well. Enjoy!


  • Ben Goldberg, Kenny Wollesen "Second Massage" from Music for an Avant-Garde Massage Parlor (BAG) 00:00
  • Host speaks 04:36
  • Ben Goldberg, Kenny Wollesen "Lefty's Observation AKA Waterphone" from Music For An Avant-Garde Massage Parlor (BAG) 06:15
  • Josephine Davies "Klesha—Affliction" from How Can We Wake? (Whirlwind) 11:07
  • Dan Rosenboom Quartet "Fellowship" from Points on an Infinite Line (Orenda) 19:43
  • Host speaks 24:48
  • Orchestre Nationale De Jazz "Dogon A.D." from Dancing in Your Head(s) (ONJ) 27:22
  • Matthew Putnam & Michael Sarian "Part 1 (Nature Boy)" from Improvisations Vol. 1 (Orbit 577) 39:23
  • Soojin Suh Chordless Quartet "Ornette-ology" from Strange Liberation (Self-released) 45:53
  • Host speaks 50:03
  • Rachel Musson "Matched Up" from I Went This Way (577 Records) 51:20
  • Jason Robinson, Bruno Raberg, Bob Weiner "Escape Velocity" from The Urgency of Now (Creative Nation) 59:36
  • Host speaks 1:06:13
  • Jason Robinson Quartet "Seventh Wave" from Harmonic Constituent (Playscape) 1:08:16
  • Hunger Pangs "Laagan in the Crawler" from II (Audio Cave) 1:17:01
  • Martin Kuchen & Landaeus Trio "Mind the Gap of Silence" from Mind the Gap of Silence (Clean Feed) 1:24:16
  • Host speaks 1:29:42
  • Telepathic Band "S Cape Cinemagic" from Telepathic Mysteries Vol. I (577 Records) 1:30:58
  • Ambrose Akinmusire Quartet "Mr. Roscoe (Consider the Simultaneous)" from On the Tender Spot of Every Calloused Moment (Blue Note) 1:42:15
  • Host speaks 1:48:08
  • José Lencastre, Hernani Faustino, Vasco Furtado "Ruinas" from Vento (Phonogram Unit) 1:48:53
  • Christoph Irniger Trio "Three Little Birds" from Open City (Intakt) 1:59:25
  • Emil Miszk & Sonic Syndicate "Hash" from Don't Hesitate (Alpaka) 2:03:53
  • Host speaks 2:09:13
  • I.P.A. "Kudeta" from Bashing Mushrooms (Cuneiform) 2:10:47
  • Ping Machine "Alors Chut..." from Des Trucs Pareils (Bauer Studios) 2:18:37
  • Jeff Albert "Unit Of Resistance" from Unanimous Sources (Breakfast4Dinner) 2:27:02
  • Host speaks 2:32:45
  • Jason Robinson Quartet "Isobathic Sounding" from Harmonic Constituent (Playscape) 2:33:49
  • Kenneth Jimenez, Drew Wesely, Francisco Mela "White Screen" from Triangulate the Landscape (Irazu) 2:42:31
  • Host speaks 2:47:11
  • Hank Roberts "Granpappy's Barn Dance Death Dance" from Black Pastels (JMT) 2:48:46

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Ulysses Owens: Big Band, Big Sound
Read Nathaniel Cross: Deep Vibrations
Read Meet Gabrielle Cavassa

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.