Blue Note 50th Anniversaries for March and More

Marc Cohn By

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
It's time for Blue Note 50th anniversaries. We present material from Andrew Hill with voices and The Three Sounds live in L.A., which was released decades after the actual recording dates. In addition, Jack McDuff recorded with a big band in London, released on LP as To Seek a New Home, but never released on CD and not presently commercially available. The really way-back machine yields Blue Note 19 with Meade Lux Lewis playing blues and boogie on the harpsicord! Along the way, 21st century music from Brad Walker (appeared locally at Chorum Hall on Wednesday, March 11th), Lonnie Smith, Peter Brendler, Marco Pignataro, Vadim Neselovskyi and Ken Fowser; and some golden oldies from Tal Farlow and Howard Rumsey's Lighthouse All-Stars. Enjoy the show!


  • Lonnie Smith "Up Jumped Spring" from All in My Mind (Blue Note) 00:00
  • Peter Brendler "Lawn Darts" from Outside the Line (Posi-Tone) 05:52
  • Howard Rumsey's Lighthouse All-Stars "Jubilation" from Music for Lighthouse Keeping (Contemporary) 12:28
  • Marco Pignataro "Song for Lucy" from Almas Antiguas (Zoho) 16:03
  • Vadim Neselovskyi "Prelude for Vibes" from Get Up and Go (Jazz Family) 23:13
  • Andrew Hill "Blue Spark" from Lift Every Voice (Blue Note) 28:46
  • Andrew Hill "Natural Spirit" from Lift Every Voice (Blue Note) 35:21
  • Andrew Hill "Mother Mercy" from Lift Every Voice (Blue Note) 42:38
  • Brad Walker "Samurai" from Live at Snug Harbor (self-produced) 48:25
  • Gene Harris and the Three Sounds "I'm Still Sad" from Live at the 'It Club' (Blue Note) 57:33
  • Gene Harris and the Three Sounds "On Green Dolphin Street" from Live At The 'It Club' (Blue Note) 1:06:55
  • Meade Lux Lewis "Variations on a Theme. I. 19 Ways to Play a Chorus" from 78 rpm single (Blue Note) 1:14:25
  • Meade Lux Lewis "Variations on a Theme. II. Self-Portrait" from 78 rpm single (Blue Note) 1:18:56
  • Tal Farlow "Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea" from Tal Farlow Plays the Music of Harold Arlen (Verve) 1:23:06
  • Ken Fowser "In the Blue" from Morning Light (Posi-Tone) 1:26:34
  • Jack McDuff "Hunk O' Funk" from To Seek a New Home (Blue Note) 1:31:46
  • Jack McDuff "Seven Keys for Seven Doors" from To Seek a New Home (Blue Note) 1:38:56
  • Tal Farlow "Hit The Road to Dreamland" from Tal Farlow Plays the Music of Harold Arlen (Verve) 1:48:52

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.