Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Dan Wilson: Vessels Of Wood And Earth


Dan Wilson: Vessels Of Wood And Earth


Sign in to view read count
Dan Wilson: Vessels Of Wood And Earth
Dan Wilson's Vessels Of Wood And Earth starts well. Just over a minute into track one, the guitarist launches into a lightning-speed solo which sounds a little like Wes Montgomery channeling Charlie Parker on speed. On track two, Stevie Wonder's well named "Bird Of Beauty," he rings the changes, exchanging Montgomery and Parker for Pat Metheny and sobriety, while pianist Christian Sands swaps his piano for a Lyle Mays-esque synthesizer program.

Unfortunately, this early promise is not sustained. As the eleven tracks progress, there is altogether too much virtuosity for its own sake and too little substance. It is frustrating, because when Wilson gets past the flash, he reveals a serious talent. His star has been rising since 2017, when he released his self-produced sophomore album, Balancing Act, and, as a member of organist Joey DeFrancesco 's quartet, was nominated for a GRAMMY Award for the album Project Freedom (Mack Avenue). The same year, Wilson began touring with bassist Christian McBride's Tip City trio. Vessels Of Wood And Earth was produced by McBride and is the second release on McBride's Brother Mister imprint.

The band is a strong one: Sands, bassist Marco Panascia and drummer Jeff "Tain" Watts. Singer Joy Brown, however, is a disappointment. Brown is heard on three tracks: a conflation of John Coltrane's "After The Rain" and Marvin Gaye's "Save The Children," Gaye's "Inner City Blues" and Arthur Hamilton's evergreen "Cry Me A River." The first is smaller than the sum of its considerable parts, the second is nondescript, and the third goes beyond drama into melodrama. The album closes with two Wilson / McBride duets, Metheny's "James" and Ted Daffan's "Born To Lose." Both are pleasant, neither is remarkable.

Wilson is capable of more than this. Meanwhile, jazz guitar aficonados looking for new(ish) talent are directed to two London-based players. Rob Luft's exquisite sophomore set, Life Is The Dancer (Edition, 2020) and Tom Ollendorff's equally uplifting debut album, A Song For You (Fresh Sounds, due out in May 2021), will each brighten your day immeasurably.

Track Listing

The Rhythm Section; Bird Of Beauty; The Reconstruction; Vessels Of Wood And Earth; Who Shot John; After The Rain; Inner City Blues; Juneteenth; Cry Me A River; James; Born To Lose.


Dan Wilson
guitar, electric
Christian Sands
band / ensemble / orchestra
Marco Panascia
bass, acoustic
Additional Instrumentation

Dan Wilson: guitar; Christian Sands: piano; Macro Panascia: bass; Jeff Tain Watts: drums; Joy Brown: vocals (6, 7, 9); Christian McBride: bass (4, 8).

Album information

Title: Vessels Of Wood And Earth | Year Released: 2021 | Record Label: Brother Mister / Mack Avenue




For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


Billy Marrows and Grande Família
Cadair Idris
Awen Ensemble
DDG19 Big Band
Dani Gurgel


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.