Home » Jazz Articles » Radio & Podcasts » Thomas Chapin, Lara Solnicki, Vijay Iyer and More


Thomas Chapin, Lara Solnicki, Vijay Iyer and More


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

From April 2021, this show features a lot of lesser-heard musicians such as Lara Solnicki, Rodrigo Faina, Juhani Aaltonen, and the late Thomas Chapin. There are also more familiar names in the mix such as Paul Motian, Vijay Iyer, and Tom Harrell.


  • Henry Threadgill Sextett "I Can't Wait Till I Get Home" from The Complete Novus & Columbia Recordings of Henry Threadgill & Air (Mosaic) 00:00
  • Roy Nathanson "Sunny" from Sotto Voce (AUM Fidelity) 1:01
  • Michael Musillami Trio "June Recovery" from Life Anthem (Playscape) 5:18
  • Vijay Iyer "One For Blount" from Solo (ACT) 12:08
  • Host Speaks 15:11
  • Rodrigo Faina and Change Ensemble "Deep Dark and Blue" from Different Roots (Red Piano) 17:12
  • Julius Hemphill Sextet "Fat Man" from Fat Man and the Hard Blues (Black Saint) 23:10
  • Host Speaks 28:24
  • Albert Mangelsdorff "Outox" from Albert Mangelsdorff And His Friends (MPS) 30:37
  • Paul Motian "The Story of Maryam" from The Complete Remastered Recordings on Black Saint & Soul Note (Soul Note) 37:34
  • Host Speaks 43:23
  • Carla Marciano Quartet "Theme from "Vertigo" (Scene D'amour)" from Psychosis: Homage to Bernard Hermann (Challenge) 44:44
  • Dayna Stephens Trio "Kwooked Stweet" from Liberty (Contagious Music) 54:47
  • Host Speaks 1:00:15
  • Lara Solnicki "Furling Leaf, Retrocede" from The One and the Other (Outside In) 1:01:09
  • Miguel Zenon "Rosario" from Yo Soy La Tradicion (Miel Music) 1:07:09
  • Host Speaks 1:14:24
  • Thomas Chapin Trio + Brass "Pantheon" from Insomnia (Knitting Factory Works) 1:16:20
  • Host Speaks 1:27:43
  • Juhani Aaltonen/Reggie Workman/Andrew Cyrille "Serenity" from Reflections (TUM) 1:29:45
  • Michael Feinberg "Hamlet" from From Where We Came (SteepleChase) 1:36:23
  • Host Speaks 1:44:56
  • Rebecca Shrimpton "Seasonale" from Requited (Invisible Music) 1:46:13
  • Tom Harrell "Daybreak" from Paradise (Bluebird) 1:51:11
  • Art Ensemble Of Chicago "Odwalla/The Theme" from Selected Recordings (ECM) 1:56:22

< Previous
Mysterium Lunae



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.