Sweet And Low Down

Mary Foster Conklin By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

A two hour broadcast with new releases from the legendary Louis Armstrong and His All Stars, guitarists Amanda Monaco and Doug MacDonald, a single from Terri Lyne Carrington + Social Science and vocalists Claudia Villela and Kate Vargas, with birthday shout outs to George Gershwin, Lee Wiley (pictured) and Alison Wedding, among others. Also a preview of who is currently playing around town.


  • Anne Sajdera "New Year" from New Year (Bijuri Records) 00:00
  • Sarah McKenzie "It's All About Love" from Secrets Of My Heart (Normandy Lane Music) 05:19
  • Louis Armstrong "On the Sunny Side of the Street" from Live In Europe (Dot Time) 08:51
  • Kate Vargas "Nothing Turns My Lock" from Single (Self released) 14:52
  • Host speaks 18:25
  • Jenny Scheinman & Allison Miller "Lead With Love" from Parlour Game (Royal Potato Family) 21:00
  • Amanda Monaco "Swallow Each Other Alive" from The Pirkei Avot Project, Vol.2 (RMI Records) 25:34
  • Jane Bunnett & Maqueque "Monkey See Monkey Do" from On Firm Ground/Tierra Firme (Linus) 31:36
  • Host speaks 36:21
  • Haruna Fukazawa "Bassi Blues" from Departure (Summit) 38:51
  • Jazzmeia Horn "Free Your Mind" from Love and Liberation (Concord Jazz) 47:11
  • Host speaks 51:56
  • Doug MacDonald & The Tarmac Ensemble "With the Wind and the Rain In Her Hair" from Jazz Marathon 4-Live at Hanger 18 (Dmac Music) 53:28
  • John di Martino & Warren Vache "Willow Weep For Me" from Impromptu (Self released) 1:00:22
  • Lee Wiley "Sweet and Low Down" from Sings the Songs of Gershwin & Porter (Audiophile ) 1:05:25
  • Ronny Whyte "This Little Love Of Ours" from Whyte Wolf (Audiophile) 1:08:14
  • Paula West "Looking For a Boy" from Come What May (Hi Horse) 1:10:32
  • Host speaks 1:15:30
  • Ulysses Owens, Jr. "Oh Freedom" from Songs of Freedom (Resilience Music) 1:19:12
  • Terri Lyne Carrington+ Social Science "Bells (Ring Loudly)" from Waiting Game (Motema) 1:23:32
  • Jean Baylor & Marcus Baylor "Tell Me a Story" from The Baylor Project (The Journey) (Be A Light) 1:28:31
  • Host speaks 1:33:08
  • Chelsea McBride's Socialist Night School "The Righteous and the Wicked" from Aftermath (Browntasaurus Records) 1:35:51
  • Cecile McLorin Salvant "Obsession" from The Window (Mack Avenue) 1:39:57
  • Claudia Villela "Negra" from Encantada Live (Taina Music) 1:43:02
  • Alison Wedding "This Dance" from This Dance (Ground Up Music) 1:49:40
  • Host speaks 1:52:12
  • Mary Halvorson "Away With You (No. 55)" from Away With You (Firehouse 12) 1:54:02


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles