Professor Aucoin & the Jazz Scientists: Mystified

Jack Bowers By

Sign in to view read count
Professor Aucoin & the Jazz Scientists: Mystified
There is a heap of soul, blues, rock, funk and heart on Professor Tim Aucoin's album, Mystified. On the other hand, the jazz content is in rather short supply. The Jazz Scientists are good at what they do, but what they do is more akin to a nightclub act than a jazz performance, at times reminiscent of Sam Butera and the Witnesses but without the luminous personas of Louis Prima and Keely Smith to raise them above the norm. Aucoin doubles on bass and sings well enough but there was only one Louis Prima, a brilliant entertainer who was at his zenith trading barbs and quips with his stone-faced sidekick, Smith.

The session comprises eight vocals, all by Aucoin—with harmony on a couple by Karla Harris—and two instrumentals, "One, Two, Three" and "Loose Change," wherein saxophonist Sam Skelton oversees the melodic essentials. Aucoin's voice is amiable and unassuming, along the lines of Bob Dorough, Mose Allison or Giacomo Gates. His lyrics traverse a similar path but without the trenchant wit or sarcasm of a Dorough, Allison or Gates. So far, Aucoin has borne comparisons to Prima, Dorough, Allison and Gates, all of which are admittedly unfair to Aucoin, as he is not trying to emulate any of them.

Aucoin is trying to entertain in his own way, using Mystified as his stage of choice. When appraised on that basis, the results are better than those assigned for comparison's sake. However, it must be noted that the album's jazz ingredients, such as they are, remain below the borderline of acceptable. Professor Aucoin's vocals, even though grounded in blues and funk, lean more toward pop than jazz, and the backup group has a lot to do with bolstering that impression, hammering out a heavy two-beat backdrop that would be right at home on contemporary pop radio. To give them their due, Skelton, drummer John David, guitarist Trey Wright and keyboardist Randy Hoexter do lend solid support, rudimentary as it may be. In the end, they and Aucoin are handcuffed by a garden-variety enterprise that might have benefited from the addition of sight to its sound, as in a nightclub or concert hall.

Track Listing

Mystified; I’ll Play My Song for You; Don’t Worry Me; One, Two, Three; Happy Man; Georgia Smile; Nursery School Blues; Loose Change; We’re All Insane; Do It All Again.


Tim Aucoin: bass; Sam Skelton: saxophone; Randy Hoexter: piano; Trey Wright: guitar; John David: drums; Karla Harris: voice / vocals.

Album information

Title: Mystified | Year Released: 2021 | Record Label: Self Produced

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Jazz Mix 12
Kris T Reeder
Horizons Quartet
Horizons Quartet
Gui Duvignau
On Fire
Bévort 3
Joshua Jern Jazz Orchestra
Inhabitable Imagination
Adrián Moncada
Where the Streets Lead
Slowly Rolling Camera
Where the Streets Lead
Slowly Rolling Camera


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.