Blue Note 50th Anniversaries: November 1968 & More


Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
We celebrate the 50th anniversary of Blue Note sessions recorded in November, 1968 from Lou Donaldson (with Charles Earland, Blue Mitchell, Jimmy Ponder and Idris Muhammad), Bobby Hutcherson (with Stanley Cowell and Harold Land) and McCoy Tyner.

Bien sur, there's more, including 78 rpm recordings of Port of Harlem Jazzmen from 1939—the first ensemble recorded by Alfred Lion—on Blue Note number 3, and even a track from some of the first material listed in the Erroll Garner discography from a Blue Note 10-incher. Those Erroll Garner Blue Notes really need to be cleaned up and re-released properly—the music is fine, and they are historically important documents.

We've also got a compare and contrast between McCoy and Duke Ellington on Duke's gorgeous composition, "Gypsy Without a Song," whose beauty I never appreciated until I heard McCoy's version! There's recent music too and a late period Horace Silver classic with the Breckers. Enjoy the discoveries and the show! [FYI: No one associated with Gifts & Messages receives ANY compensation from the Blue Note label.]


  • Horace Silver "Yodel Lady Blues" from A Prescription for The Blues (Impulse) 00:00
  • Tony Kofi "Cisco" from Point Blank (Last Music) 06:32
  • Pierre Dorge "Sim Sim Ba" from Soundscapes (Steeplechase) 11:51
  • Peter Erskine "Hipnotherapy" from Second Opinion (Fuzzy Music) 21:07
  • Lou Donaldson "Snake Bone" from Say It Loud (Blue Note) 28:31
  • Lou Donaldson "Caravan" from Say It Loud (Blue Note) 38:00
  • Lou Donaldson "Brother Soul" from Say It Loud (Blue Note) 44:22
  • Port of Harlem Jazz Men "Rocking The Blues" (Blue Note) 52:42
  • Port of Harlem Jazz Men "Mighty Blues" (Blue Note) 57:47
  • Bobby Hutcherson "Ruth" from Spiral (Blue Note) 1:02:18
  • Bobby Hutcherson "Poor People's March" from Spiral (Blue Note) 1:10:44
  • Bobby Hutcherson "Visions" from Blue Note (Blue Note) 1:16:59
  • McCoy Tyner "Gypsy Without A Song" from McCoy Tyner Plays Ellington (Impulse) 1:20:41
  • Duke Ellington "Gypsy Without A Song" from Complete 1932-40 Brunswick, Columbia Master Recordings (Mosaic) 1:26:42
  • McCoy Tyner "Planet X" from Cosmos (Blue Note) 1:29:43
  • McCoy Tyner "Sama Layuca" from Sama Layuca (Milestone) 1:37:49
  • Erroll Garner "Autumn Mood" from Overture To Dawn, Vol 2 (Blue Note) 1:46:22

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Doc Severinsen

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.