Home » Jazz Articles » Local Talent, Saxophone Summit and More

Radio & Podcasts

Local Talent, Saxophone Summit and More


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

On this show there is a focus on two recent albums by Local Talent and Saxophone Summit.

Local Talent combines three of Canada's most eminent instrumentalists performing together on record for the first time. The group is lead by composer and keyboardist James Hill, a rising star of the Toronto scene, known best for his work with international jazz and hip hop sensations BADBADNOTGOOD and Autobahn Trio. Accompanying him are electric bassist Rich Brown (Rinse the Algorithm, Dapp Theory, Steve Lehman, Rudresh Mahanthappa) and drummer Ian Wright (one of Hill's Autobahn Trio bandmates, and one of his earliest collaborators.)

Saxophone Summit is a unit for which the description "super group" is an understatement. Street Talk is the band's fourth album since sax giants Michael Brecker, Dave Liebman and Joe Lovano first joined forces in 1999 to celebrate John Coltrane's epochal late-career musical production. This is the first Saxophone Summit album that includes alto saxophone icon Greg Osby, who replaced Ravi Coltrane in 2017.

Between those two albums there is a selection of new and recent releases.


  • Local Talent "Higienópolis" from Higienópolis (Self Released) 00:00
  • Saxophone Summit "Street Talk" from Street Talk (Enja Yellowbird) 07:39
  • Sonic Openings Under Pressure "Tilting Curvaceous" from Mauhheankuntuk (Clean Feed) 15:59
  • Telepathic Band "Flesh Dialect" from Electric Telepathy Vol. 1 (577 Records) 22:04
  • Endless Roar "Facades" from Rush Hush (Jersika Records) 41:46
  • Rob Brown Quartet "Anticipation" from From Here to Hear (RogueArt) 46:15
  • Local Talent "Tundra" from Higienópolis (Self Released) 54:07
  • Saxophone Summit "Loudly" from Street Talk (Enja Yellowbird) 1:00:37
  • Chasing Penguins "Inhale" from Chasing Penguins (Rat Records) 1:08:06
  • Joao Lencastre "Departure" from Parallel Realities (FMR Records) 1:19:40
  • Piero Bittolo Bon BB's Bread & Fox "Spice Girls From Arrakis II (Mel B Mel C = Melange)" from This Is Sour Music (Trouble in the East) 1:30:26
  • Tom Arthurs, Isambard Khroustaliov, Julian Sartorious "Moumou" from Hangkerum (Clean Feed) 1:40:37
  • Saxophone Summit "Tolli's Dance" from Street Talk (Enja Yellowbird) 1:47:47
  • Local Talent "Blue Rainbow" from Higienópolis (Self Released) 1:56:53

Post a comment


Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Top 10 Moments in Jazz History
Genius Guide to Jazz
Top 10 Moments in Jazz History
Read Take Five with Monday Michiru
Read Henry Threadgill: 9 Plus Essential Albums
Read Bobby Sanabria: Giving Credit Where It's Due

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.