Nate Wooley, UMO, Alban Darche & Chick Corea

Maurice Hogue By

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
This show has a tribute to the great Chick Corea and new releases from here and there: Finland's UMO Helsinki Jazz Orchestra, France's Le Gros Cube led by saxophonist Alban Darche, Australian's Alister Spence Trio augmented by guitarist Ed Kuepper, Canada's See Through 4, another guitarist Jörg Schippa from Germany, and Nate Wooley's Mutual Aid Music. More good stuff as usual.


  • Chick Corea "Straight Up And Down" from Tones For Joan's Bones (Atlantic) 00:00
  • Host speaks 12:26
  • See Through 4 "Weathering Teenage Hopes" from Permanent Moving Parts (All Set Editions) 13:59
  • Gard Nilssen's Supersonic Orchestra "Bytta Bort Kua Fikk Fela Igjen" from If You Listen Closely The Music Is Yours (Odin) 19:49
  • Host speaks 33:29
  • Alban Darche "A La Bougie" from Le Gros Cube #2 (Yolk) 35:38
  • Kaja Draksler, Peter Eldh & Christian Lillinger "Enbert Amok" from Sommit (Intakt) 42:14
  • Dan Blake "Da Fé" from Da Fé (Sunnyside) 46:02
  • Host speaks 52:29
  • Jörg Schippa "Funky H" from Unbeding T (Self-released) 53:46
  • Nate Wooley "III-I" from Mutual Aid Music (Pleasure of the Text) 59:25
  • Host speaks 1:06:13
  • Nate Wooley "I-I" from Mutual Aid Music (Pleasure of the Text) 1:07:45
  • Ananasnna "Scatta Il Rosso" from Veloci Come In 500 (Auand) 1:16:05
  • Leo Jr. Wijnkamp "Looking For..." from First Meeting (Self-released) 1:22:01
  • Host speaks 1:29:23
  • Alister Spence Trio with Ed Kuepper "Nature" from Asteroid Ekosystem (Alister Spence Music) 1:31:41
  • Steve Coleman & Metrics "Black Genghis" from The Way Of The Cipher (BMG) 1:35:38
  • Stephen Gauci & Mara Rosenbloom "#9" from Pandemic Duets (Gauci Music) 1:43:58
  • Host speaks 1:49:44
  • Shijin "Golden Age" from Theory Of Everything (Alter-Nativ) 1:51:52
  • Alister Spence Trio with Ed Kuepper "Face Of The Atom" from Asteroid Ekosystem (Alister Spence Music) 1:59:57
  • Host speaks 2:06:35
  • UMO Helsinki Jazz Orchestra "On The Edge Of A World" from Music of Haarla, Heinilä, Kasurinen & Rönkä (Eclipse Music) 2:08:10
  • Chris McGregor's Brotherhood Of Breath "Traveling Somewhere" from Traveling Somewhere (Cuneiform) 2:14:04
  • Jörg Schippa "Das Laecheln Neukoellns" from Unbeding T (Self-released) 2:21:21
  • Host speaks 2:29:14
  • Chick Corea "Now He Sings, Now He Sobs" from Now He Sings, Now He Sobs (Blue Note) 2:31:23
  • Return to Forever "Spain" from Light As A Feather (GRP) 2:38:2
  • Chick Corea & Christian McBride & Brian Blade "500 Miles High" from Trilogy 2 Live (Universal) 2:48:15

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.