More 2018 Faves, Christoph Irniger Pilgrim & Liberty Ship

Maurice Hogue By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

A second week of favourite recordings from 2018 by Scott Clark, Schnell, Jason Robinson, Enrique Haneine, Steve Coleman, Nicole Mitchell and Liberty Ship. This week we also dig into some of the newer releases that have arrived: the Wing Walker Orchestra, Francesco Diodati & Yellow Squeeds, Ambrose Akinmusire, and Christoph Irniger Pilgrim among others. Top it all off with a pair of tracks from the final release in Satoko Fujii's year-long project, Kikerou with her Orchestra Kobe, and you've got a great three hours of music. Enjoy!


  • Quartette Oblique "All Blues" from Quartette Oblique (Sunnyside) 00:00
  • Scott Clark "Cantapeta Creek" from ToNow (Clean Feed) 12:21
  • Host speaks 19:56
  • Satoko Fujii Orchestra Tokyo "Neppa" from Kikoeru (Libra) 23:05
  • Satoko Fujii Orchestra Tokyo "Stop and Go" from Kikoeru (Libra) 30:18
  • Schnell "A Flower Is a Lovesome Thing" from Live at Sowieso (Clean Feed) 36:26
  • Jason Robinson "Facing West" from Resonant Geographies (pFmentum) 40:41
  • Host speaks 47:10
  • Wing Walker Orchestra "Marina" from Hazel (Ears & Eyes) 49:10
  • Enrique Haneine "Reality Shape" from The Mind's Mural (Elegant Walk) 54:40
  • Host speaks 59:28
  • Steve Coleman "twf" from Live at the Village Vanguard Vol 1 (The Embedded Sets) (Pi) 1:00:00
  • Host speaks 1:07:02
  • Francesco Diodati & Yellow Squeeds "Simple Lights" from Never The Same (Auand) 1:08:35
  • Nicole Mitchell " Voudou Spacetime Kettle" from Maroon Cloud (FPE) 1:16:57
  • Flavio Zanuttini & Opacipapa "Grazi Grazi" from Born Baby Born (Clean Feed) 1:22:56
  • Host speaks 1:28:32
  • Ambrose Akinmusire " The Lingering Velocity of the Deads' Ambitions" from Origami Harvest (Blue Note) 1:30:53
  • Sam Trapchak "Pterofractal" from Land Grab (Self-released) 1:40:42
  • James Brandon Lewis "No Wooden Nickels" from Divine Travels (Okeh) 1:45:30
  • Host speaks 1:49:19
  • Maurice Louca "Elephantine" from Elephantine (Northern Spy/Sub Rosa) 1:51:35
  • Susana Santos Silva & Mette Rasmussen "The Dog (That Bit Me)" from October Meeting 2016 (Bimhuis) 1:59:04
  • Host speaks 2:08:23
  • Stephen Haynes & Damon Smith "Bonshō" from Search Versus Research (Balance Point Acoustics) 2:09:53
  • Francois Houle, Alexander Hawkins & Harris Eisenstadt "Clue" from You Have Options (Songlines) 2:16:04
  • Jeff Morris "A Solo Is the Nth Melody" from Interfaces: Jazz Meets Electronics (Ravelo) 2:21:08
  • Host speaks 2:27:27
  • Liberty Ship "Nightly Gulf" from Signal Horn (Eclipse Music) 2:29:09
  • Danielle Friedman Trio "Ach Le Shalom" from School of Fish (Self-released) 2:35:01
  • Christoph Irniger Pilgrim "Point Of View" from Crosswinds (Intakt) 2:41:07
  • Host speaks 2:49:03
  • Lucian Ban & Alex Simu "The Pilgrim" from Free Fall (Sunnyside) 2:50:04

Photo credit: Peter Gannushkin.

Post a comment


Shop Amazon


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.