Remy Le Boeuf: Assembly Of Shadows

Dan McClenaghan By

Sign in to view read count
Remy Le Boeuf: Assembly Of Shadows
Remy Le Boeuf's Assembly Of Shadows, an ambitious jazz orchestra recording, opens with his original composition, the cinematic "Strata," followed by a majestic take on alto saxophonist Ornette Coleman's "Honeymooners," a tune from the free jazz pioneer's Virgin Beauty (Portrait Records, 1988). These sounds—collectively clocking in at fifteen and a half minutes—set the stage for the five-part "Assembly Of Shadows Suite." Saxophonist Le Bouef considered the voices in his orchestra for the purposes of highlighting the individual musical personalities, a mode of operation common to the greats, past and present—Duke Ellington, Count Basie, Gil Evans, and Maria Schneider, to whom the composer-arranger seems particularly indebted via his use of sweeping vistas and translucent harmonies.

The "Assembly Of Shadows Suite" tells the story of a child lost in the forest who falls asleep beneath the trees, to awaken to visions of dancing shadows that have come to life. Kind shadows and scary shadows teach the child things about herself, then guide her home at moonset to her own bed, where she awakens, uncertain about the reality of her experience—perhaps it was just a dream. The fairytale-like tale is compelling; so is the soundtrack.

The music has a floating-outside-of-time and an ignoring-the-force-of-gravity vibe—like shadows. Le Beouf arranges masterfully. "Transfiguration," Part IV of the suite, ebbs and flows. The leader's sweet-toned alto sax sits in for playful innocence and beauty; Carl Maraghi's growling baritone sax takes the part of malice, in a dialogue that culminates in the serene sparkle of Martha Kato's piano—goodness and innocence winning.

"A Light Through the Tunnel" closes the suite on a tranquil note, with a beautifully-intricate piano solo by Kato, followed by Tony Glausi's placid-yet-passionate trumpet turn immersed in the sumptuous subtleties of the orchestra.

Track Listing

Strata; Honeymooners; Assembly Of Shadows Suite: I. Introduction; II. Assembly Of Shadows; III. Shapeless Dancer; IV. Transfiguration; V. Light Through The Leaves.


Gregory Robbins: conductor; James Shipp: percussion; Remy Le Boeuf: alto sax, soprano sax, flute, alto flute; Anna Webbe: flute (1, 6), Ben Kono tenor sax, clarinet: Vito Chiavuzzo: flute, alto sax; John Lowery : tenor sax/clarinet; Carl Maraghi: bari sax, bass clarinet; John Lake: trumpet; Tony Glausi: trumpet; Philip Dizack: trumpet; Matt Holman: trumpet; Eric Miller: trombone; Natalie Cressman: trombone; Isaac Kaplan: trombone; Jennifer Wharton: trombone; Nick Depinna: trombone, additional overdubs (2); Alex Goodman: guitar; Martha Kato: piano; Matt Aronoff: bass; Peter Kronreif: drums.

Album information

Title: Assembly Of Shadows | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Soundspore Records



Shop Amazon


Read The Sudden Bird of Waiting
The Sudden Bird of Waiting
Patrick Brennan/Maria do Mar/Ernesto Rodrigues/Miguel Mira/Hernâni Faustino/Abdul Moimême
Read Myasmo
Mia Zabelka
Read Originations
Ryan Cohan
Read Dualisms
Michael Malis
Read Awareness
Joe Sturges
Read Move On!
Move On!
Purdie / Fabian / Oswanski
Read Newton
Tony Bevan / Ashley Wales

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.