Home » Jazz Articles » A Selection Of New Releases


Radio & Podcasts

A Selection Of New Releases


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

2021 is proving to be the gift that keeps giving for new jazz releases. Curtis Andrews returns after a long break from releasing music to deliver an album which is rich in rhythmic exploration, modal and raga-based melodies, and some truly virtuosic performances. There's also the debut from Martin Frieberg, Dennis Gonzalez Ataraxia Trio's second offering, a new one from Tom Rainey's excellent Obbligato band, and a selection of other new albums which ably demonstrate the wide variety of music available in the World of Jazz.


  • Martin Frieberg "Barrilette" from Il Montano Libre (Club Del Disco) 00:00
  • Pino Palladino, Blake Mills "Just Wrong" from Notes With Attachments (New Deal/Impulse!) 06:08
  • The Offering of Curtis Andrews "Tight Rope, Short Walk" from Speaking Hands (Self Released) 11:35
  • Dennis González Ataraxia Trio "Sita" from Nights Enter (Ayler Records) 19:24
  • Francois Bourassa "Small Head" from L'Impact Du Silence (Effendi Records) 28:47
  • Echoes of Zoo "Breakout" from Breakout (W.E.R.F. Records) 34:56
  • Gerald Cleaver "Cooper Moore" from Griots (Positive Elevation/577 Records) 39:30
  • Martin Frieberg "Entre Dos Ojos" from Il Montano Libre (Club Del Disco) 45:58
  • Schapiro17 "Count Me Out" from Human Qualities (Summit Records) 51:48
  • The Offering of Curtis Andrews "The Speaking Hands" from Speaking Hands (Self Released) 01:00:58
  • Dennis González Ataraxia Trio "Approaching Dawn" from Nights Enter (Ayler Records) 01:10:55
  • François Bourassa "Musique Pour Film" from L'Impact Du Silence (Effendi Records) 01:13:45
  • Paul Dunmall and Mark Sanders "The Quiet Mind" from Unity (577 Records) 01:22:53
  • Tom Rainey Obbligato "If I Should Lose You" from Obbligato : Untucked In Hannover (Intakt) 01:30:58
  • Pino Palladino, Blake Mills "Djurkel" from Notes With Attachments (New Deal/Impulse!) 01:36:52
  • Schapiro17 "Hallelujah" from Human Qualities (Summit Records) 01:42:24
  • Martin Frieberg "Agerero" from Il Montano Libre (Club Del Disco) 01:54:44

Post a comment

For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read The Ten Best  Jazz Christmas Albums Of All Time
Read Giving Thanks & Sharing the Jazz Love
Read Record Store Day Black Friday 2023: Jazz Releases
Read The Most Exciting Jazz albums since 1969: 2006-2009

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.