Ian Shaw, Iain Ballamy, Jamie Safir: What's New

Chris May BY

Sign in to view read count
Ian Shaw, Iain Ballamy, Jamie Safir: What's New
What's new? Not the dozen songs on this enchanting trio album. Most of them have been around for well over fifty years and people will likely still be enjoying them in another fifty. The composers include Duke Ellington, Richard Rodgers, Burt Bacharach, Jimmy Van Heusen, Michel Legrand and Leonard Bernstein. Musically sophisticated and lyrically literate, the allure of their songs seems to grow, not fade, with age.

What's New was recorded by vocalist Ian Shaw and tenor saxophonist Iain Ballamy, two of the brightest stars of Britain's class of the late-1980s jazz generation. They are accompanied by hot young London pianist Jamie Safir. No bass, no drums. Frequent collaborators, Shaw and Ballamy first recorded together in 1992; chiming with particular resonance to What's New is the pair's work on Shaw's drummerless-quartet album, In A New York Minute (Milestone, 1999). Like Shaw and Ballamy, Safir is well known to London audiences, either leading his own trio or as an accompanist. He pays the rent by playing with pop megastar Will Young.

The longevity of the songs on What's New might well have surprised their composers (of whom only Bacharach is still with us in 2020). They were conceived, after all, as commercial pop songs and were not necessarily expected to last. But they have continued to delight succeeding generations of musicians and listeners. Take the title track as an example. Originally an instrumental called "I'm Free," it was written in 1938 by Bob Haggart for Bob Crosby's Dixieland band. Lyrics were added later by Johnny Burke. Numerous vocal versions include landmark ones by Helen Merrill (with Clifford Brown) and Billie Holiday (with Benny Carter). Erroll Garner, Ahmad Jamal and John Coltrane are among the many who have recorded instrumental versions. It appears on live albums by Miles Davis, Dexter Gordon, the Modern Jazz Quartet and even.... Cecil Taylor. In 1983, the song was the title track of a collection of standards released by Linda Ronstadt. How long have you got?

What's New was recorded live in the studio in spring 2019 and the three-day process was, says Shaw, "pure joy." So is listening to it.

Track Listing

What’s New?; You’ll Never Get To Heaven (If You Break My Heart); Prelude To A Kiss; You Stepped Out Of A Dream; Once Upon A Summertime; If You Never Come To Me; I Wish I Were In Love Again; Some Other Time; It Might As Well Be Spring; Alfie; Come Sunday; I’ll Only Miss Him When I Think Of Him.


Ian Shaw: voice / vocals; Iain Ballamy: saxophone, tenor; Jamie Safier: piano.

Album information

Title: What's New | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Silent Wish

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


Alex Jenkins Trio
Gaetano Letizia
Within Us
Chuck Owen
Close to Home
Ari Erev
Up & Down, Sideways
Jon Raskin Quartet
Small Wonders
Zacc Harris Group
Descarga for Bud
Alex Conde
The Dealer
Chico Hamilton


Terence Blanchard featuring The E-Collective
En Attendant
Marcin Wasilewski Trio
Station Three
Quartet Diminished
The Garden
Rachel Eckroth

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.