Jamie Pregnell: Sleepy Town

Mark Sullivan By

Sign in to view read count
Jamie Pregnell: Sleepy Town
Australian jazz guitarist Jamie Pregnell leads a quartet through a program of original compositions. Joined by tenor saxophonist Julien Wilson, bassist Sam Anning and drummer Ben VanderWal , Pregnell kicks the album off with the gentle loping swing of "Brightside." The title tune is a lovely ballad—introspective, maybe, but certainly not sleepy. It inspires lyrical solos from Pregnell, Wilson's saxophone and Anning's bass.

"Rover" continues in a contemplative mood, this time with a more contemporary rubato feel. "Moon" is bright and upbeat, with especially active time keeping from Vanderwal's drums in an interesting groove. Bass and drums play a duet for an extended break, too, making it a rhythm section feature. "Eighties" rides along atop an insistent eight-note bass pulse. "Early Life" concludes the set with a bit of Americana guitar twang and lyrical saxophone.

Pregnell has composed an attractive and varied set of tunes, interpreted with skill and verve by the band. The music is contemporary jazz all the way—no bebop, no fusion, no rock—and the guitar employs a straight tone, without overdrive. Think Pat Metheny, sometimes Bill Frisell (in jazz and Americana mode). Good stuff. It would be nice to hear this band again, but Pregnell is someone to watch regardless.

Track Listing

Brightside; J.M.; Sleepy Town; Rover; Moon; Eighties; Early Life.


Jamie Pregnell: guitar, electric; Julien Wilson: saxophone, tenor; Sam Anning: bass; Ben VanderWal : drums.

Album information

Title: Sleepy Town | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Self Produced

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


Read Human Dust Suite
Human Dust Suite
Miki Yamanaka
Read You're It!
You're It!
The Mike Melito/Dino Losito Quartet
Read TEST and Roy Campbell
TEST and Roy Campbell
TEST and Roy Campbell
Read 4K
Read Signals
Trio Linguae
Read History Gets Ahead of the Story
History Gets Ahead of the Story
Jeff Cosgrove / John Medeski / Jeff Lederer
Read Prism
Conference Call

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.