Home » Jazz Articles » Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela: Rejoice


Album Review

Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela: Rejoice


Sign in to view read count
Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela: Rejoice
"Unfinished" is the kindest word to describe this album, recorded in 2010 and left on the shelf until its release was prompted after Hugh Masekela passed in 2018. It should have stayed on the shelf.

The album consists of eight tracks of noodling by Masekela, accompanied by autopilot timekeeping from Tony Allen, who passed a few weeks after the album was finally released in spring 2020. Masekela and Allen had recorded the tracks unaccompanied and on the fly when their tour schedules found them in London at the same time. They sound tired. There are no substantial tunes or lyrics, just a few skeletal motifs and chants, and no arrangements worthy of the description. Sound quality is crisp and clear, but somehow that makes the music itself sound even more tedious. Even great musicians have off days.

In 2019, between Masekela's passing and the album's release, half a dozen musicians were brought in to fill out the tracks. They include some of London's finest: keyboard player Joe Armon-Jones, tenor saxophonist Steve Williamson and vibraphonist Lewis Wright. But all they do is tinker around the edges. Silk purses and pigs' ears come to mind. As the hired help, the sessioneers are the only people to emerge from this sorry affair with their reputations unsullied—although those of Masekela and Allen will only be momentarily dented.

If you want to celebrate Hugh Masekela, check the YouTube clip below. If you want to celebrate Tony Allen, check any of his albums with Fela Kuti.

Track Listing

Robbers, Thugs and Muggers; Agbada Bougou; Coconut Jam; Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be the Same; Slow Bones; Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony); Obama Shuffle Strut Blues; We've Landed.


Hugh Masekela: flugelhorn; Tony Allen: drums.

Additional Instrumentation

Additional musicians include: Steve Williamson: tenor saxophone; Joe Armon-Jones: keyboards; Lewis Wright: vibraphone; Mutale Chashi: bass; Tom Herbert: bass; Elliot Galvin: synth.

Album information

Title: Rejoice | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: World Circuit

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Caught in the Rhythm
Benjamin Boone
Ten Stories
Precarious Towers
John La Barbera Big Band


Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio
Afro Futuristic Dreams
Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids
Pharoah (Box Set)
Pharoah Sanders
Dynamic Maximum Tension
Darcy James Argue's Secret Society

On the record

Vibes on a Breath
Ted Piltzecker
Jonathan Karrant
Brazilian Match
Luiz Millan
Double Portrait
Giuseppe Millaci and the Vogue Trio

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.