Blue Note All Stars: Our Point Of View

Chris May By

Sign in to view read count
Blue Note All Stars: Our Point Of View
Different generations of Blue Note stars come together on this double-album to celebrate the label's legacy and to affirm its present-day relevance. Wayne Shorter and Herbie Hancock first recorded for Blue Note in the 1960s. Robert Glasper, Ambrose Akinmusire, Marcus Strickland, Lionel Loueke, Derrick Hodge and Kendrick Scott variously came on board in the 2000s and 2010s. The music hits the sweet spot as accurately as the lineup suggests it will.

The first disc opens with Glasper's "Bruce's Vibe," the second closes with Akinmusire's "Bruce, The Last Dinosaur." Both tunes are tributes to the late Bruce Lundvall, who signed Glasper and Akinmusire to Blue Note and preceded 2019's presidential incumbent, Don Was. "Bruce's Vibe" includes a sample from an acceptance speech Lundvall made at the Grammy Awards in 2011. It serves as the album's manifesto...

"When everyone says to you, 'What's going on with jazz dying,'" says Lundvall, "tell them what W.C. Fields would have said: 'go fuck yourself.'"

Over the ten tracks which follow, the album demonstrates that Lundvall's faith in jazz was totally on-point. Among the highlights is Shorter's "Masquelero," first heard in 1967 on Miles Davis' Sorcerer (Columbia). Shorter and Hancock were part of the band which made that album and both join the All-Stars for the track. Davis' version endures, but this new one captures the tune's otherworldly Native American vibe even more effectively. Full-length footage of the recording session is included as a bonus feature on Sophie Huber's excellent 2019 documentary, Blue Note Records Beyond The Notes. So, too, is the complete footage of the recording of another highlight, Glasper's "Bayyinah."

Shorter also contributes "Witch Hunt," from his 1966 Blue Note album, Speak No Evil. Akinmusire and Hodge each contribute two tunes and Loueke, Strickland and Scott one apiece. There is not a dud among them.

Our Point Of View was co-produced by Robert Glasper and Don Was. It is solidly in the Blue Note tradition while also being thoroughly of its own time. More, please.

Track Listing

CD1: Bruce’s Vibe; Cycling Through Reality; Meanings; Henyq; Witch Hunt; Second Light. CD2: Masquelero; Bayyinah; Message Of Hope; Freedom Dance; Bruce The Last Dinosaur.


Wayne Shorter: soprano saxophone (2:1); Herbie Hancock: piano (2:1); Ambrose Akinmusire: trumpet (1:2-6; 2:1-5); Marcus Strickland: tenor saxophone: (1:1, 2, 5, 6; 2:1-5); Robert Glasper: piano, Fender Rhodes (1:1-6; 2:1-5); Lionel Loueke: guitar (1:1-3, 1:5, 6); Derrick Hodge: upright bass, electric bass (1:1-6; 2:1-5); Kendrick Scott: drums (1:1-3, 5, 6; 2:1-5).

Album information

Title: Our Point Of View | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Blue Note

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


Invisible Words
Falkner Evans
Bob Mintzer & WDR Big Band Cologne
Another Land
Dave Holland
Native Sons
Los Lobos
Dewa Budjana
The Last Call
Larry Coryell & Philip Catherine


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.