Home » Jazz Articles » Manzanita Quintet: Osmosis


Album Review

Manzanita Quintet: Osmosis


Sign in to view read count
Manzanita Quintet: Osmosis
The tried and true quintet formation, set in stone by alto saxophonist Charlie Parker and trumpeter Dizzy Gillespie in the late 1940s, is back in 2022 with the Reno, Nevada-based Manzanita Quintet.

So how do they give a fresh shine to a sound that could be considered "done to death?" On Osmosis the guys go at it with some fresh compositions, four by the group's bassist, Hans Halt, two more from their saxophonist, Peter Epstein, one from trumpeter Josh D. Reed and another from keyboardist Adam Benjamin. That done, the group wraps things up with the familiar: Thelonious Monk's "Bemsha Swing " and Charlie Haden's "Silence."

Opening with "Hansepts," the group slips into stealth mode, prowling around the studio with a chip on its shoulder, then burning the place down on saxophonist Peter Espsteins's turn in the spotlight. It then becomes a collective onslaught that dissipates into an introspective section—back to the prowl.

"Pajaro Dunes," penned by Epstien, celebrates the two-horn statement before slipping into a stinging sax solo, with the rhythm section pushing things forward, relentlessly, until Adam Benjamin, on the Rhodes keyboard, takes an extended technique jaunt that modernizes the sound beautifully. The group has a distinctive collective personality, with drummer Andrew Heglund and bassist Hans Halt rocking it—a fearless pair when it comes to letting their voices be heard.

The quintet's take on Monk's "Bemsha Swing" dances like a dizzy child spinning on the lawn, staggering, stumbling while never missing a step; Haden's set closer, "Silence," sounds prayerful, wrapping things up on an introspective and reverent note.

Track Listing

Hansepts; Pajaro Dunes; Osmosis; Push; Leaping Forward; Apex; To Quincy; Devotion; Bemsha Swing; Silence.


Manzanita Quintet: band/orchestra; Josh D. Reed: trumpet; Peter Epstein: saxophone, sopranino; Adam Benjamin: keyboards; Hans Halt: bass; Andrew Heglund: drums.

Album information

Title: Osmosis | Year Released: 2023 | Record Label: Origin Records

Post a comment about this album

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Fractal Sextet
Fractal Sextet
Blue Moka


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.