New releases and a special focus on albums from Diane Roblin and Chelsea McBride

Bob Osborne BY

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
Another show packed with new music with a focus on new releases from Diane Roblin and Chelsea McBride. Diane Roblin's spirited debut release Reconnect made the jazz charts and received airplay around the globe. Now she offers a second album of high energy music from the heart entitled Life Force featuring an explosive six piece band. In 2017, Toronto composer and saxophonist Chelsea McBride wowed critics and listeners alike with The Twilight Fall, the first full length album from her large ensemble Socialist Night School. Two years later, Chelsea & Co. are back with an even more ambitious follow up: Aftermath. Her album explores conflict in all its forms: macro and micro, internal and interpersonal.


  • Diane Roblin "Back on Track" from Life Force (Self Produced) 00:00
  • Chelsea McBride's Socialist Night School "Revolution Blues" from Aftermath (Crym Music) 06:43
  • Ben van Gelder, Tony Tixier, Tom Berkmann, Matthias Ruppnig "Lakeview" from Scopes (Whirlwind Recordings) 14:24
  • Daniel Rorke, Oscar Noriega, Simon Jermyn, Matthew Jacobson "Naked Allies" from Naked Allies (Orenda Records) 19:26
  • Dick Oatts, Billy Drewes, Walt Weiskopf "A Galant Farewell" from Jazz Session Volume 18 (SteepleChase) 24:58
  • JAAS "Sound of Wall" from Slowly Rocking (ausculto fonogram) 33:51
  • Diane Roblin "Modal Moods" from Life Force (Self Produced) 42:07
  • Chelsea McBride's Socialist Night School "Ballad Of The Arboghast" from Aftermath (Crym Music) 47:53
  • Nat Reeves "Blue Ridge" from Blue Ridge (Nat Reeves/Side Door Jazz) 55:27
  • Massimo Colombo "A Remark You Made" from Acoustic Weather (The Music of Weather Report) (Massimo Colombo) 1:00:15
  • Tom Christensen "Asleep and Sleeping With Them" from New York School (Playscape Recordings) 1:07:20
  • Up and Out "Three Draft Pistons" from Up and Out (Amirani Records) 1:17:10
  • Chelsea McBride's Socialist Night School "Love Is On The Line" from Aftermath (Crym Music) 1:25:56
  • Diane Roblin "Bela" from Life Force (Self Produced) 1:35:46
  • Sean Conly, Michael Attias, Tom Rainey "Improvisation #2" from Live at The Bushwick Series (gauci music) 1:42:37
  • Art Pepper "Waltz Me Blues" from Art Pepper: 12 Classic Albums 1954-1962 (Enlightment) 1:58:20

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

The 55 Bar Mixtape

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Chico Hamilton: The Master
Read Wayne Shorter: An Essential Top Ten Albums
Read John Clayton: Career Reflections
Read Fire Music: The Story of Free Jazz
Read Jon Hendricks: An Essential Top Ten Albums
Read Meet Jack DiMonte
Out and About: The Super Fans
Meet Jack DiMonte
Read Take Five with Alex Jenkins
Take Five With...
Take Five with Alex Jenkins

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.