Ivo Perelman, Lucas Goicoechea, Charles Mingus, Roberto Ottaviano and More

Maurice Hogue By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

There's a wide swath of styles in this episode, further demonstrating the incredible depth of improvised music. From an historic live performance in Germany by Charles Mingus, to the powerful saxophone of Ivo Perelman joined by an improvising string trio, to contemporary guitar by England's Ray Russell, to rising stars from Argentina (saxophonist Lucas Goicoechea), to jazz, hip-hop and rap in the persons of Albany NY's Bright Dog Red , there should be something in this edition of One Man's Jazz to get you excited.


  • Nasheet Waits Equality "Korean Bounce" from Between Nothingness and Eternity (Laborie Jazz) 00:00
  • Nasheet Waits Equality "Koko" from Between Nothingness and Eternity (Laborie Jazz) 10:06
  • Host speaks 17:32
  • Ivo Perelman & Arcado String Trio "Resonance 4" from Deep Resonance (Fundacja Sluchaj) 20:07
  • Vijay Anderson Silverscreen Sextet "The Inside Walk" from Live at Angel City Jazz Festival (Self-released) 28:45
  • Hupata! "Roof Gardening" from Microclimates (Astral Spirits) 41:26
  • Lucas Goicoechea "Sale El Segundo" from Ordendes (Ears&Eyes) 46:29
  • Host speaks 53:04
  • Alan Braufman "No Floor No Ceiling" from The Fire Still Burns (Valley of Search) 55:09
  • Broun Fellinis "Sleight of Hand" from Live from Jupiter -Vol. 1 (Broundsoun) 59:57
  • Host speaks 1:17:13
  • Charles Mingus "Free Cellblock F, Tis Nazi USA" from Charles Mingus at Bremen 1964-1975 (Sunnyside) 1:19:30
  • Barrage "Is And—And Is" from The Was And Is to Come (CRA Fonogram) 1:27:44
  • Alister Spence "(Re) Animate" from Whirlwind (Self-released) 1:33:13
  • Host speaks 1:36:14
  • Ray Russell "We Go Back a Short Way" from Fluid Architecture (Cuneiform) 1:37:54
  • Nubya Garcia "Hold" from Nubiya's Five (Jazz Refreshed) 1:44:53
  • Host speaks 1:51:55
  • Roberto Ottaviano "Resonance" from Resonance and Rhapsodies (Dodicilune) 1:53:17
  • Rob Reddy Quintet "Time Smells Good" from Citizen Quintet (Reddy Music) 1:59:31
  • Schnell "Schnell Part 3" from Live at Sowieso (Clean Feed) 2:10:39
  • Sylvain Darrifourcq, Manuel Hermia, Théo Ceccaldi / Roberto Negro / Valentin Ceccaldi / Adrien Chennebault "Disruption" from Kaiju Eats Cheeseburgers (Hector) 2:22:55
  • Host speaks 2:35:41
  • Bright Dog Red "Dust" from Somethin' Comes Along (Ropeadope) 2:37:20
  • Quin Kirchner "King Korn" from The Shadows & the Light (Astral Spirits) 2:45:56
  • Host Speaks 2:51:49
  • Sylvie Courvoisier Trio "Requiem D'Un Songe" from Free Hoops (Intakt) 2:52:31

Post a comment


Shop Amazon


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.