Home » Jazz Articles » Radio & Podcasts » Luca Sguera, Enrique Haneine and Joe McPhee & Dave Rempis


Luca Sguera, Enrique Haneine and Joe McPhee & Dave Rempis


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

This episode is a mixed bag of music of new releases (Gordon Grdina Sextet, Luca Sguera, Enrique Haneine, Dave Rempis & Joe McPhee, and The Necks) plus further listening from recent releases by the likes of Marie Kruttli and Trio, Itaca 4et, Inland Empire featuring Kris Davis, The MacroQuarktet and Simon Nabatov Quintet), and revisits to Dwight Trible's Mothership, and like-aged fine wine, Jack DeJohnette's Special Edition.


  • Gordon Grdina Sextet "Ever Onward" from Resist (Irabagast) 00:00
  • Host speaks 09:01
  • Gordon Grdina Sextet "Varscona" from Resist (Irabagast) 11:25
  • Adele Sauros "Escapism" from Luna (Self-released) 18:01
  • Simon Nabatov Quintet "Cry from Hell" from Plain (Clean Feed) 22:42
  • Host speaks 29:21
  • Enrique Haneine "What of What We Are" from Unlayered (Elegant Walk) 30:30
  • Wojtek Mazolewski Quintet "Crazy Girl" from When Angels Fall (Whirlwind) 38:29
  • Marie Kruttli Trio "I Hate to Be Taken as a Stupid Person" from The Kind of Happy One (QFTF) 42:46
  • Host speaks 51:28
  • Dwight Trible "Mothership" from Mothership (Gearbox) 52:51
  • Host speaks 1:00:10
  • MacroQuarktet "Ducks, Geese... Or Rabbits Part I" from Complete Night Live at the Stone NYC (Out Of Your Head) 1:00:57
  • MacroQuarktet "Ducks, Geese... Or Rabbits Part II" from Complete Night Live at the Stone NYC (Out Of Your Head) 1:07:19
  • MacroQuarktet "Ducks, Geese... Or Rabbits Part III" from Complete Night Live at the Stone NYC (Out Of Your Head) 1:17:27
  • MacroQuarktet "Ducks, Geese... Or Rabbits Part IV" from Complete Night Live at the Stone NYC (Out Of Your Head) 1:22:23
  • Lakecia Benjamin "Liberia" from Pursuance: The Coltranes (Ropeadope) 1:25:35
  • Host speaks 1:31:32
  • Joe McPhee & Dave Rempis "Smola" from Of Things Beyond Thule Vol. 2 (Aerophonic) 1:32:14
  • Martin Perret's L'Anderer "Junctures" from Junctures (QFTF) 1:42:09
  • Host speaks 1:49:57
  • Luca Sguera "Io Ho L'impermeabile, Tu Le Ali" from Berlin Sessions (Self-released) 1:51:28
  • Enrique Haneine "Oust No More" from Unlayered (Elegant Walk) 1:59:09
  • Lisa Cameron, Tom Carter, Ingebrigt Håker Flaten "Chronosphere" from Tau Ceti (Astral Spirits) 2:05:28
  • Itaca 4et "Saturno" from Vortex (Nusica) 2:10:13
  • Host speaks 2:15:21
  • Jack DeJohnette "Zoot Suite" from Special Edition (ECM) 2:16:55
  • Rudresh Mahanthappa "I Can't Get Started" from Hero Trio (Whirlwind) 2:28:15
  • Host speaks 2:33:37
  • Inland Empire "Surf Curl" from Inland Empire (Clean Feed) 2:34:54
  • More Cutouts "Hyphen" from Cutout (Driff) 2:41:42
  • Host speaks 2:48:12
  • The Necks "Further" from Three (Northern Spy) 2:50:09

< Previous

Next >
Catenary Oath



For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.