Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Quinsin Nachoff: Flux


Quinsin Nachoff: Flux


Sign in to view read count
Track review of "Astral Echo Poem"

Quinsin Nachoff: Flux
Canadian-reared, New York City-based saxophonist Quinsin Nachoff summons a meeting of some very bright musical minds on this stirring quartet date. Rounded out by heralded modern era musicians, saxophonist David Binney, keyboardist Matt Mitchell and drummer Kenny Wolleson, the band erects a cunning bridge between structured and melodic thematic ventures with traditional jazz values and free-flowing improvisational overtures.

Many of these works are erected with polytonal sequences and odd-metered aberrations via forceful choruses and unanticipated diversions. Moreover, the quartet projects a cunning musical personality as large and small surprises trickle through the seams on a recurring basis, sans any overwhelming deconstruction efforts or total breakdowns.

The soloists inject several quirky paradigm shifts into the big picture, countered by warm choruses and heavy-duty aerial assaults. However, "Astral Echo Poem" is guided by loping unison sax lines, cleverly shaded by Mitchell's dark and crusty Wurlitzer piano notes atop Wolleson's meaty backbeats as the frontline also mixes complex phrasings into off-kilter detours and weaving patterns. Nachoff's fluid soloing is abetted by his corpulent tone and airy treatments along with Mitchell who adds an edgy solo, leading to endearing opuses and the band's perky accentuations. Here, the quartet generates a manifold view amid a touch of jazz fusion in spots. In sum, Nachoff's musicality is hard to typify, which is a good thing. And while the quartet fashions a signature sound and style, it never veers to a finite side of the jazz spectrum. (Highly recommended).

Track Listing

Tightrope; Complimentary Opposites; Mind's Ear I; Mind's Ear II; Astral Echo Poem; Titled.


Quinsin Nachoff

David Binney: alto saxophone; Quinsin Nachoff: tenor saxophone; Matt Mitchell: piano; Fender Rhodes; Wurlitzer, Moog Rogue; organ; Kenny Wollensen: drums, tubular bells; handcrafted percussion.

Album information

Title: Flux | Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: Mythology Records


For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Tidal Currents: East Meets West
Winnipeg Jazz Orchestra
This Celestial Engine
This Celestial Engine
Martin Arnold
Whisper Not
Paul Kendall


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.