Home » Jazz Articles » Eddie Who: Michael Blake's Tribute to Eddie Harris

Radio & Podcasts

Eddie Who: Michael Blake's Tribute to Eddie Harris


Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen

The latest project by veteran saxophonist Michael Blake and his long-time collaborators Clark Gayton on trombone and Tony Mason on drums is a heart-felt tribute to the legendary Eddie Harris.

This mixtape features five tunes by Eddie Harris cherry-picked by Michael Blake mixed with music by Michael Blake selected by Mondo Jazz.

Happy listening!


  • Michael Blake "Afro Blake" Drift (Intuition) 0:00
  • Eddie Harris "Shamtime" The Electrifying Eddie Harris (Atlantic) 6:53
  • Slow Poke "Listen Here" At Home (Palmetto) 13:42
  • Eddie Harris "I'm Gonna Leave You by Yourself" Silver Cycles (Atlantic) 21:13
  • Michale Blake "Nitty Gritty" Red Hook Soul (Ropeadope) 24:10
  • Eddie Harris "Lovely Today" Plug Me In (Atlantic) 30:04
  • Blake Tartare "Messy Business" Blake Tartare (Baby Tank) 34:30
  • Michael Blake "Boogaloop" Tiddy Boom (Sunnyside) 0:00 45:04
  • Eddie Harris "On Green Dolphin Street" Eddie Harris Goes to the Movies (Vee Jay) 48:36
  • Michael Blake Trio "Mt. Harissa" Right Before Your Very Eyes (Clean Feed) 51:05
  • Eddie Harris "Children's Song" High Voltage (Atlantic) 54:54
  • Michale Blake "Treat Her Right" In the Grand Scheme of Things (Songlines) 58:13

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Post a comment


Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, The Outer View, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Bitches Brew and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Giving Thanks & Sharing the Jazz Love
Read Your Favorite Living Jazz Pianists
Read Your Favorite Living Jazz Drummers

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.