Musician? Boost Your Visibility at All About Jazz

Upgrade your AAJ musician page from standard to premium and make your presence felt!

Maximize your visibility at All About Jazz by upgrading your musician page from standard to premium. With it, you'll receive All About Jazz home page exposure, a highly stylized / ad-free musician page with bonus features and benefits, an ad, plus you control where you sell your music and so much more.
Learn More

Burning Ghosts, Alister Spence and More

Maurice Hogue BY

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
Expat bassist Mike Parker’s Unified Theory is living in Poland now and making great music with his Trio Theory. This episode kicks off with a pair of tunes from Shiny Objects, Dark Places, his latest album. You'll also hear Burning Ghosts with their musical expression of anger and distaste for the current state of American politics. The second hour features Australia's Alister Spence continued collaboration with the great Satoko Fujii, conducting her Orchestra Kobe through a set of distinctly original music. The final set has new music from Europe: Italian pianist Luca Sguera and the Scandinavian super group The Way Ahead. And there's plenty more throughout this edition of One Man's Jazz.


  • Mike Parker Unified Theory "Goldfinger" from Shiny Objects, Dark Places (Self-released) 0:00
  • Host speaks 08:42
  • Mike Parker Unified Theory "Arctica" from Shiny Objects, Dark Places (Self-released) 10:59
  • Philip Zoubek Trio "The Long Fade" from Outside (WhyPlayJazz) 21:24
  • Oestetik " Recollection Of A Dream" from Coincidences (Self-released) 27:20
  • Host speaks 34:47
  • Burning Ghosts "Fanfare For The End Of Truth" from American Circus (Orenda) 36:49
  • Satoko Fujii Trio "The Way To Get There" from Towards, To West (Enja) 44:44
  • Host speaks 51:51
  • Disorder at the Border "Comme Il Faut" from Disorder at the Border Plays Ornette (NotTwo) 53:28
  • Kuba Pluzek Quartet "Veehighster -Piece For Critics Part 3" from Froots (For Tune) 1:00:08
  • Host speaks 1:06:28
  • Alister Spence & Satoko Fujii Orchestra Kobe "Part 2 (Meeting)" from Imagine Meeting You Here (Alister Spence Music) 1:09:22
  • David Chevallier "Les Folies De Cécile" from Pyromanes (Le Son Art) 1:18:41
  • Magnus Nystrom & Bo Wicklund "Twisted Skyline" from Turbulence (Footprint) 1:26:26
  • Host speaks 1:35:07
  • Ambrose Akinmusire "A Blooming Blood Fruit In A Hoodie" from Origami Harvest (Blue Note) 1:36:20
  • Devin Gray "The Wire" from Dirigo Rataplan II (Rataplan) 1:46:55
  • Host speaks 1:52:22
  • Quinsin Nachoff & Flux "Path Of Totality" from Path Of Totality (Whirlwind) 1:52:58
  • Christoph Irniger Pilgrim "Crosswinds" from Crosswinds (Intakt) 1:59:25
  • Host speaks 2:08:19
  • Luca Sguera "AKA" from AKA (Auand) 2:09:57
  • Quantum Trio "Particles" from Quality Studio Live (Self-released) 2:16:59
  • Stephen Haynes & Damon Smith "Indigo" from Search Versus Research (Balance Point Acoustics) 2:26:59
  • < li>Host speaks 2:34:04
  • The Way Ahead "Lakenskrekk" from Bells, Ghosts And Other Saints (Clean Feed) 2:35:51
  • Josh Sinton's Predicate Trio "Propulse" from Making Bones (Iluso) 2:41:38
  • Host speaks 2:46:59
  • Adam Kolker & Russ Lossing "Gnash" from Whispers And Secrets (Fresh Sound) 2:48:45

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.