Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Jacob Garchik: Assembly


Jacob Garchik: Assembly


View read count
Jacob Garchik: Assembly
Trombonist Jacob Garchik has an interest in musical subtraction. His 2012 release The Heavens: The Atheist Gospel Trombone Album (Yestereve Records) presented religious music stripped of religion. Clear Line (Yestereve Records) from 2020 featured a 13-piece big band with no rhythm section. Now comes Assembly, an inquiry into what a jazz quintet sounds like when added to itself.

Garchik declares both method and intent in his song titles; the first three cuts are "Collage," "Pastiche" and "Bricolage." The first lays a series of portentous, fanfare-y unison band statements over the distant chatter of the quintet playing some up-tempo bebop workout. It's as though an open studio mic picked up the sound of a stray earbud playing a Steve Lacy / Roswell Rudd track during the session. "Pastiche" begins with what might pass as a lost recording of the 1976 Anthony Braxton Quartet with George Lewis playing a long, snaky line with uncanny precision. After Garchik's straight-ahead solo on blues changes, the opening line returns at an impossible tempo in a mad dash to the finish line. It must have been electronically manipulated, though considering the capabilities of saxophonist Sam Newsome, Jacob Sacks on piano, bassist Thomas Morgan and drummer Dan Weiss, one never knows.

Multiplication drives the somber, John Coltrane-ish "Homage" by building a 13-piece band (two saxophones, four trombones, four pianos, four basses and three drummers) through overdubs. "Fanfare" alternates slices of a tender piano/trombone duo on Duke Ellington's "In A Sentimental Mood," played straight and with a lyricism worthy of Lawrence Brown, with a hectic, up-and-down stepwise figure for full band. Compare and contrast.

There are elements of John Zorn's jump cut method in Garchik's madness as well as a Braxtonian fondness for setting multiple spinning figures in motion against each other, as he does on the dizzyingly looped "Idée Fixe." No studio trickery was used to make the digeridoo sound at the beginning of "Fantasia." Sam Newsome did that in real-time through defiantly analogue means, attaching a hose to his soprano saxophone to drop its range. It's an example of how Garchik inoculates the project from tedious self-indulgence with a healthy dose of genuine curiosity and playfulness.

Conceptual jazz never sounded like so much fun.

Track Listing

Collage; Pastiche; Bricolage; Homage; Fanfare; Idée Fixe; Fantasia; Impromptu; Reverie.


Jacob Garchik
Sam Newsome
saxophone, soprano
Dan Weiss
Thomas Morgan
bass, acoustic

Album information

Title: Assembly | Year Released: 2022 | Record Label: Yestereve Records




For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.


Jake Baldwin, Zacc Harris, Pete Henning
The Waits / InBetween Music
The Early Planets


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.