Home » Articoli » Felipe Salles: The New Immigrant Experience

Album Review

Felipe Salles: The New Immigrant Experience


Sign in to view read count
Felipe Salles: The New Immigrant Experience
The New Immigrant Experience è un lavoro multimediale, che combina musica orchestrale e proiezioni video, ispirato all'esperienza dei Dreamers, persone protette dal programma Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals. Accanto al compact disc musicale il progetto include quindi un DVD (curato dalla regista Fernanda Faya) in cui Felipe Salles intervista giovani immigrati, raccogliendo storie di vita spesso dolorose. Quelle testimonianze sono servite al bandleader da ispirazione per questo nuovo lavoro col Felipe Salles Interconnections Ensemble, una big band di 20 elementi che ricordiamo protagonista del suo precedente concept album The Lullaby Project (Tapestry 2019)

Originario di San Paolo (Brasile), residente negli Stati Uniti dal 1995 Felipe Salles insegna Jazz and African-American Music Studies presso l'Università del Massachusetts Amherst, è giunto al suo ottavo disco da leader e ha collaborato con Randy Brecker, Dave Liebman, Lionel Loueke, Jerry Bergonzi, Bob Moses e altri jazzmen di primo piano.
A differenza di altri album con ampi organici (usati talvolta come sfondo per solisti di grido) qui la scrittura orchestrale è piena protagonista negli undici movimenti della suite. Non mancano ovviamente interventi individuali ma sono sempre funzionali a percorsi molto articolati sul versante ritmico e metrico, con svolte, improvvise aperture e fondali timbricamente cangianti.
Salles ha sviluppato una personale prospettiva orchestrale, insistendo su parti dilatate che si alternano ad altre particolarmente dinamiche o serrate per formare un variopinto caleidoscopio dove echi di Brasile si coniugano a momenti swinganti o raffinate soluzioni impressioniste.
Un'opera sontuosa, frutto di una ricercata concezione orchestrale che merita un ascolto attento.

Track Listing

CD1: Introduction; Did You Eat?; Their Stories Have Never Been Told; An Education to Begin With; A Part and Not the Other; Survivor’s Guilt. CD2: It’s Just Lines on the Ground; Built on Thin Air; Crossing Barriers; These Things That Are Taken for Granted; Coda.


Felipe Salles: saxophone; Jeff Holmes: trumpet; Don Clough: trumpet; Yuta Yamaguchi: trumpet; Eric Smith: trumpet; Doug Olsen: trumpet; Jonathan Ball: saxophone; aaron dutton: saxophone; Mike Caudill: saxophone; Rick DiMuzio: saxophone, tenor; Tyler Burchfield: saxophone; Clayton DeWalt: trombone; Randy Pingrey: trombone; Bulut Gulen: trombone; Kevin Grudecki: guitar; Ryan Fedak: vibraphone; Keala Kaumeheiwa: bass, acoustic; Bertram Lehmann: drums.

Album information

Title: The New Immigrant Experience | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Tapestry Records

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter Since 1995, shortly after the dawn of the internet, All About Jazz has been a champion of jazz, supporting it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to rigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Post a comment about this album



Swings High
Joe Harriott
Trevor Dunn's Trio-Convulsant avec Folie À Quatre
Songs Of Ascent Book 1—Degrees
Dave Douglas Quintet


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.