Markus Reuter: Sun Trance


Sign in to view read count
Markus Reuter: Sun Trance
Markus Reuter has a reputation as a guitar shredding animal. He has been called a power trio kingpin, his artistry referred to as "fearless and ferocious." The cliche "not for the faint of heart" comes to mind on sets like Truce (Moonjune Records, 2020) and Shapeshifter (Moonjune Records, (2020). But he has a softer side, one that presents a music marinated in serenity and subtle beauty—his teaming with multi-instrumentalist (playing piano here) Gary Husband on the ethereally gorgeous Music Of Our Times (Moonjune Records, 2020), and now with Sun Trance.

Moving away from his customary small ensemble mode, Sun Trance features the Touch guitarist sharing the stage with Dennis Kuhn's eleven piece ensemble, Manheimer Schlagwerk, creating a "sort of trance-avant-garde-psychedelic sonic hybrid." The group is six percussionists, including a glockenspiel, two vibraphones, some shakers, in addition to a bass clarinet, a drum kit and a synthesizer, enveloping Reuter's understated guitar work. Much use is made of overlapping drone-scapes, resulting in a soundtrack for the dark and mysterious, and modern classical stylings.

The music is a thirty-seven-minute piece, with Reuter improvising inside the spooky precision atmospherics of the ensemble. And as laid back as the sound is, Reuter still finds a way to shred, albeit in a restrained yet still searing way. This isn't a Touch guitar in front of the band; rather, it is a well integrated concerto, electronically glowing and organically breathing at the same time.

Track Listing

Sun Trance (Live).


Markus Reuter: guitar, electric; Mannheimer Schlagwerk: band/orchestra; Dennis Kuhn: vibraphone; Ti-Hsien Lai: vibraphone; Luis Andres Chavarria Baez: percussion; Lukas Heckmann: percussion; Marius Fink: percussion; Oguz Akbas: percussion; Maria Wunder: clarinet, bass; Patrick Baumann: guitar, electric; Johannes Engelhardt: bass, electric; Hye-Rim Ma: synthesizer; Linda-Philomene Tsoungui: drums.

Additional Instrumentation

Luis Andrés Chavarría Báez: glockenspiel; Lukas Heckmann: glockenspiel, shaker; Marius Fink: crotales, shaker; Oğuz Akbaş: crotales, shaker;Markus Reuter: Touch Guitars® AU8, soundscapes.

Album information

Title: Sun Trance | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: MoonJune Records

Post a comment about this album



The Montreux Years
John McLaughlin
Long Way Home
Dimitris Angelakis
Potsa Lotsa XL & Youjin Sung
Anthony Coleman and Brian Chase


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.