Home » Jazz Articles » Atomic: Lucidity

Album Review

Atomic: Lucidity


Sign in to view read count
Atomic: Lucidity
Living up to their name in performance and on record, the all-star Norwegian quintet Atomic challenges preconceived notions regarding the stereotypically introspective nature of Nordic jazz. Inspired by the unbridled spirit of 1960s American "Fire Music" and the post-war school of European free improvisation, Atomic eclipses the meditative lyricism of influential local legends like Jan Garbarek and Terje Rypdal, exemplifying the broad stylistic diversity of contemporary Scandinavian jazz.

Formed in 2000, the original lineup brought together trumpeter Magnus Broo and saxophonist Fredrik Ljungkvist (the frontline of Fire House) with pianist Håvard Wiik, bassist Ingebrigt Håker Flaten and drummer Paal Nilssen-Love (the rhythm section from Element). After fifteen years and a dozen releases together, the founding members have undergone their first personnel change, with Hans Hulbækmo taking the place of Nilssen-Love.

Lucidity consists of seven new tunes written by either Ljungkvist or Wiik, the ensemble's primary composers, who favor episodic non-linear narratives over conventional song structures. The opener, "Laterna Interfuit" starts quietly, although the band quickly picks up steam; within a minute and a half the piece blossoms into a riot of dizzying refrains and halting staccato phrases interleaved with disarmingly plangent interludes. The dynamic title track follows a similarly discursive path; buoyed by Hulbækmo's youthful enthusiasm, its hard bop-inflected theme is boldly extemporized by Broo's bristling intervals and Ljungkvist's cascading torrents.

Demonstrating a convincing flair for atmospheric subtlety and melodic sophistication, "Start/Stop" inverts the unit's usual approach, punctuating passages of melancholy impressionism with histrionic outbursts, while the lyrical closer, "December," presents Wiik's neoclassical pianism and Haker Flaten's sinewy arco flirting with atonality, but never at the expense of the number's folksy demeanor.

The band members' seasoned rapport gracefully balances cathartic expressionism with calm introspection throughout the session. Whether careening through the quicksilver swing of "Major" or exploring the haunting textural nuances of "A New Junction," Atomic proves there is far more variety in creative improvised music from the Northern countries than mainstream outlets often suggest.

Track Listing

Laterna Interfruit; A New Junction; Lucidity; Start/Stop; A MacGuffin’s Tale; Major; December.


Fredrik Ljungkvist: reeds; Magnus Broo: trumpet; Håvard Wiik: piano; Ingebrigt Håker Flaten: bass; Hans Hulbœkmo: drums.

Album information

Title: Lucidity | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: Jazzland Recordings

Post a comment about this album



Chris Oatts
Live New York Revisited
Horace Silver Quintet
Siwan: Hafla
Jon Balke


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.