Floating Circles Quartet: Humble Travelers

Chris May By

Sign in to view read count
London's Floating Circles Quartet are a group of Guildhall School of Music & Drama alumni who have been playing together since 2017. Humble Travelers is their debut album.

If one had to pin a label on FCQ, chamber music is probably the most accurate off-the-peg description, though it is inadequate and oversimplified as are all such labels. Chamber music captures the instrumentation well enough—clarinet/bass clarinet, effects-free guitar, double bass, drums—but it does not suggest the energy of the music, which is driven by Arthur Newell's understated but spirited drumming.

In their publicity material, the band cites Shabaka Hutchings' Sons of Kemet and Oregon as their main influences, but those connections seem tenuous at best. Sure, Hutchings plays almost as much bass clarinet as he does tenor saxophone, but the ferocious twin-drummers and tuba-driven sound of Sons Of Kemet is far removed from that of FCQ. Similarly, aside from a vibe which leans towards the pastoral and occasionally touches on the folky, Oregon is a bit of stretch, too.

All the material on Humble Travelers was written by FCQ's leader, clarinetist and bass clarinetist Aidan Pearson. The tunes are strong and the arrangements are carefully crafted. Guest violinist on three tracks is Johanna Burnheart, a rising star on the London scene through her work with Maisha and Yazz Ahmed. Burnheart has her debut album coming out in October 2020 and FCQ bassist Jonny Wikham is part of her band.

If there is one area that Pearson and the band might usefully explore next time out, it is harnessing the recording studio as another instrument. The sound design of Humble Travelers is unadorned and unmediated by technology. This may, of course, be a conscious and deliberate decision by FCQ. But in 2020 the result sounds a little anachronistic in its denial of opportunities. Just saying.

Track Listing

Brockley ‘N’ Peas; Beyond The Mountains Of Aria; Caravan Curtains; White ‘N’ Fluffy; Wading Through The Mist; Galactic Pedalboat Rescue Trip.


Additional Instrumentation

Aidan Pearson: clarinet, bass clarinet; Matt Hurley: guitar; Jonny Wickham: double bass, percussion (1, 3); Arthur Newell: drums; Johanna Burnheart: violin (1, 3, 5).

Album information

Title: Humble Travelers | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Self Produced

Post a comment about this album




Dewa Budjana
The Last Call
Larry Coryell & Philip Catherine
Palette of Feelings
Karolis Šarkus
A Centering Peace
Brian Woodruff Sextet
Five Down Blues
Kyle Asche Organ trio
Long Tall Sunshine
Barry Altschul's 3Dom Factor


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.