Home » Jazz Articles » César Cardoso: Dice of Tenors

Album Review

César Cardoso: Dice of Tenors


Sign in to view read count
César Cardoso: Dice of Tenors
The captivating and cinematic Dice of Tenors is Portugese saxophonist César Cardoso's fourth release as a leader. Cardoso has brought together an international octet of accomplished musicians for an eight track tribute to six saxophone giants including John Coltrane, Hank Mobley, and Benny Golson. In addition to six standards either penned or popularized by these legendary tenorists, there are two Cardoso originals which are in the same spirit as the covers.

Cardoso's haunting "Rafaela" is constructed out of dynamic and intricately interwoven melodic fragments. The horns and bassist Demian Cabaud's con arco lines create a hypnotic ambience over drummer Marcos Cavaleiro's understated, rumbling beats. Further enhancing this dramatic tension are the passionate and expansive exchanges between brass and woodwinds which, under Cardoso's leadership, sound intimate yet orchestral. Trumpeter Jason Palmer crafts an intelligent and lyrical solo which shimmers with burnished tones. Cardoso follows with his incandescent and meandering improvisation. Both venture far from the main theme yet remain within its purview.

Similarly enthralling is saxophonist Sonny Rollins's classic "St. Thomas." Cabaud and Cavaleiro create an angular framework within which the band lets loose wistful refrains. As the rhythms grow freer, vibraphonist Jeffery Davis brings the group together with an effervescent cadence. The melody unfurls with exuberance tinged with melancholy. Trombonist Massimo Morganti embellishes the tune with clever whimsy and elegant agility. Pianist Oscar Graça builds a crystalline extemporization with his resonant cascades of chiming notes. Altoist Miguel Zenon takes center stage with an imaginative soliloquy made up of sinewy lines and brimming with vibrant poetry.

Cardoso is a superlative and consummate artist and a brilliant composer-arranger. His small body of work is uniformly superb and Dice of Tenors is, perhaps, his best recording to date. His balanced approach to directing the ensemble, writing and spontaneous creativity endows this album with an absorbing atmosphere reminiscent of a film soundtrack. Certainly his own mastery of the tenor as well as the virtuosity of his bandmates further contribute to making Dice of Tenors a delight to listen to again and again.

Track Listing

Along Came Betty; Remember; Rafaela; Three O'Clock In The Morning; Giant Steps; Recorda-Me; Agueiro; St. Thomas.


César Cardoso: saxophone; Jason Palmer: trumpet; Miguel Zenon: saxophone, alto; Massimo Morganti: trombone; Jeffery Davis: vibraphone; Oscar Graça: piano; Demian Cabaud: bass; Marcos Cavaleiro: drums.

Album information

Title: Dice of Tenors | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Self Produced

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Post a comment about this album



Courtney Pine
Speakers In The House
The Headhunters
Kaja Draksler, Susana Santos Silva
Live From the Heat Dome
Thomas Marriott


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.