Home » Jazz Articles » Jason Roebke Octet: Cinema Spiral


Album Review

Jason Roebke Octet: Cinema Spiral


Sign in to view read count
Jason Roebke Octet: Cinema Spiral
The widely acclaimed collaborative nature of the contemporary Chicago jazz scene is expertly demonstrated on Cinema Spiral, the sophomore effort by double bassist Jason Roebke's all-star Octet, which continues the creative in-roads made on the unit's celebrated 2014 Delmark Records debut, High/Red/Center.

Starring eight of the Windy City's most intrepid improvisers, the ensemble features the muscular frontline of cornetist Josh Berman, trombonist Jeb Bishop, alto saxophonist Greg Ward, tenor saxophonist Keefe Jackson, and bass clarinetist Jason Stein. Vibraphonist Jason Adasiewicz, who adds distinctive color to the proceedings, joins Roebke and drummer Mike Reed as part of the responsive rhythm section.

In addition to his sidemen's myriad connections, Roebke has played with each member of the Octet in a number of different configurations, including Adasiewicz's Rolldown, Berman's trio, Bishop's trio, Jackson's quartet, Reed's People Places & Things, Stein's Locksmith Isidore, and Ward's 10 Tongues, among others. Testing his band's cooperative sensibility and improvisational mettle, Roebke pens deceptively simple but tightly arranged charts with ample room allotted for unpredictable spontaneous detours.

The continuous seven-part opus features a series of recurring motifs—similar to film score cues—that appear at regular intervals throughout the set. Caterwauling polyphony and passages of aleatoric impressionism establish the album's avant-garde tone, though Roebke's writing is more Technicolor than black & white. The serene ballad "For a Moment" stands in stark contrast to the cacophonous collectivism of "People Laughing," while harmonious swing materializes on the grooving number "Waiting," and the ebullient 6/8 sway of the closer "L'acmé."

The late 1960s Blue Note recordings of luminaries like Eric Dolphy, Bobby Hutcherson and Jackie McLean have had a noticeable influence on Chicago's current generation of musicians—Roebke included. But Roebke has managed to incorporate the angular melodies and lockstep rhythms of those seminal classics into his own writing far more organically than most. Aided by the stellar contributions of his bandmates, Cinema Spiral offers a keen summary of Roebke's burgeoning talents as a bassist, composer, and bandleader of note.

Track Listing

Looking directly into the camera; Focusing; For a Moment; Getting High; People Laughing; Waiting; L'acmé


Greg Ward: alto saxophone; Keefe Jackson: tenor, sopranino saxophones, contrabass clarinet; Jason Stein: bass clarinet; Josh Berman: trumpet; Jeb Bishop: trombone; Jason Adasiewicz: vibes; Jason Roebke: bass; Mike Reed: drums.

Album information

Title: Cinema Spiral | Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: NoBusiness Records

Post a comment

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.



Lina Allemano
The Eye is the First Circle
Vanessa Perica Orchestra
Christmas Stories
Christian Sands
RBG Trio
RBG Trio


On the record

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.