Alexander Von Schlippenbach, Dag Magnus Narvesen and More

Maurice Hogue BY

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
There are several new albums sampled in this episode, beginning with a pair of bands from Toronto—bassist Pete Johnston's See Through 4 which features pianist Marilyn Lerner, and drummer Ernesto Cervini's quartet. Avant-garde collaborators Alexander von Schlippenbach and Dag Magnus Narvesen reunited for another duo session of very out-there explorations on Liminal Field. Revisiting his past recordings focused on the songs of the Civil Rights Movement, trumpeter Barry Long has now released another, Freedom Sounds. From Finland, super drummer Olavi Louhivuori 's band Superposition has a new one, and the wonderful international quartet, Orchestra Nazionale Della Luna and their There's Still Life On Earth , gets previewed as well as does pianist Aruán Ortiz's latest. As always, there's lots of fine music throughout


  • Brian Groder Trio "Winter Wurr" from Luminous Arcs (Latham) 00:00
  • Host speaks 09:31
  • See Through 4 "Battling In Extra End" from False Ghosts Minor Fears (Self-released) 11:34
  • See Through 4 "An Ocean To Forget" from False Ghosts Minor Fears (Self-released) 18:24
  • DST "S" from Kinetic (Aut) 40:10
  • Aparticle "Seedsman" fromThe Glamour Action (UR) 44:20
  • Host speaks 48:29
  • Alexander Von Schlippenbach & Dag Magnus Narvesen "Morphing Monk" from Liminal Field (Self-released) 50:08
  • Satoko Fujii Orchestra NY "Elementary Particle" from Entity (Libra) 59:15
  • Host speaks 1:09:15
  • Aruan Ortiz "Inside Rhythmic Falls Pt 2 (Echoes)" from Inside Rhythmic Falls (Intakt) 1:10:55
  • Plot "Sequence B Ile Perdue" from Cadenza (WhyPlayJazz) 1:17:19
  • Andrea Scala "Cracked" from Coming Back, Leaving Again (Shifting Paradigm) 1:22:29
  • Host speaks 1:25:51
  • Miles Perkins "On Point" from Subtone (Self-released) 1:27:35
  • Florian Chaigne & The Big Room "Saba La Reine" from 2018 (Self-released) 1:30:27
  • Alain Bédard Auguste Quartet "La Silva Major" from Exalta Calma (Effendi) 1:33:13
  • Host speaks 1:41:42
  • Julius Hemphill "Dogon A. D." from Dogon A.D (International Phonograph) 1:43:47
  • Faulkner Evans "Marbles" from Marbles (Consolidated Artists) 1:58:32
  • Susana Santos Silva & Impermanence "Sweet Delusions" from The Ocean Inside A Stone (Portajazz) 2:04:51
  • Curtis Sydnor "Them!" from Deep End Shallow (Out Of Your Head) 2:08:05
  • Host speaks 2:12:54
  • Superposition "Bilawal" from Superposition (We Jazz) 2:15:05
  • chuffDRONE "2 Nid Alls" from Chuffdrone (Kudos) 2:21:47
  • Host speaks 2:29:35
  • Orchestra Nazionale Della Luna "Al Bahr" from There's Still Life On Earth (BMC) 2:30:48
  • Maciej Obara Quartet "Glow" from Crowns (ECM) 2:37:55
  • Kamau Daaood "Deep River In Her Voice" from Leimert Park (M.A.M.A.) 2:45:20
  • Host speaks 2:51:08
  • Deep Ford "Strumming" from You May Cross Here (BMC) 2:52:38

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Murray Brothers: A Law Unto Themselves
Read Mark Murphy: An Essential Top Ten Albums

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.